For the Love of Binding

I’ve been missing you; I hope you have doing well out there. I’ve been all over the place from working on guild workshops, rodeo, work, wedding, and retreat planning for Cynthia. So much has been going on it is more like a blur.

I have so many quilts that need binding I had to put a priority when I needed them. I even asked David to help me by measuring the quilts and then calculating how many inched of binding I would need for each one.

Top priority was given to my Red Crinoline quilt “Elizabeth”, she was a wedding gift for my daughter, Katie and the shower was today. This was quilted by Denise Green and as usual, she did a marvelous job! We have had two planning sessions this past week and the panic/countdown is definitely on!

Elizabeth all quilted

Elizabeth all quilted

I have been working trying to get different ones signed up for the Baytown workshop with Tricia Cribbs of FriendFolks, her claim to fame is the “Turning Twenty” pattern. She is coming to do our workshop/lecture on April 7th and trying to get her books to some.

Friday was my deadline to make the label for Katie’s quilt. I had already prepped the binding, so while the label was stitching out I could iron the binding and get it ready to be machine sewn down. For some reason I had the hardest time getting the embroidery software to work, it wouldn’t load right and then I left the room, then for some reason my computer shutdown. Ugh! I finally got it figured out and stitched out.

the label

the label

another view of the quilt

another view of the quilt

more of Elizabeth

more of Elizabeth

some of the quilting

some of the quilting

Saturday morning I got the binding and label machine sewn down before the Easy Piecers bee. The quilt is 94×94 and that is a LOT of binding. I took the quilt to work on during the bee, the goal was to get at least one side done during the bee. Then I had to work the rodeo and I packed it go with me too.

My rodeo shift didn’t start until 5, but I knew the traffic was going to be awful, with the added madness of spring break and rain I knew I needed to get there extra early. I left the house about 1 and parked by 2. It was raining so I left my quilt in the car and decided that I would go look at the commercial exhibits in Reliant Center since I had not looked at anything. Because of the rain, everyone that would have been outside in the carnival was inside going through all the exhibits! People were EVERYWHERE, even upstairs where it is normally empty – people were even lying down on the floor – it looked like a refugee camp. I was sitting in our committee office and it was over two hours until I had to be in my post and I could not bear to just sit there doing absolutely nothing for that long. Therefore, I walked all the way back to my car to get the quilt so I could work on the binding. Luckily I got almost 2 more sides done before I went to my post.

This morning I was able to finish the binding! Wahoo, but I think I have a sore finger!
We had a nice turnout for Joseph’s & Katie’s shower; it is always wonderful to be around long-time family friends that you haven’t seen in a very long time. Thank you for the ones that made time out of their busy schedules to come to the shower, it meant a lot!

all of the binding is done and she is complete

all of the binding is done and she is complete

another view - I just love looking at them

another view – I just love looking at them

Katie's cupcakes

Katie’s cupcakes

Jill and Wyatt

Jill and Wyatt

Mr Happypants

Mr Happypants

Ann, Mom, Shirley and Lenda

Ann, Mom, Shirley and Lenda

One of the funniest things that happened at the shower was watching our long-time friends play “wedding bingo”. You were given a blank bingo card with free stamped in the middle and then you had to write in what you thought were in the gifts. As each gift opened you could check off what you wrote down and make a bingo! Oh the joy watching our “mature section” play, they were hilarious!

Ms Ann won the bingo

Ms Ann won the bingo

By the way, Katie and Joseph loved all of their gifts and the quilt!

Jill, Katie and myself

Jill, Katie and myself

Katie posing

Katie posing

Wyatt

Wyatt

they have new stainless

they have new stainless

gifts

gifts

gifts

gifts

oh boy - new towels

oh boy – new towels

more goodies

more goodies

loved the family frame

loved the family frame

canisters

canisters

IMG_6230

IMG_6231

and the quilt

and the quilt

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Rodeo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For the Love of Binding

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Nice note and pictures.

Leave a Reply

