Faceted Jewels Month 4

Today is St. Patrick’s Day; I hope you have had a good one. Today is also my sister, Pattie’s birthday – which is how she got her name. We knew we had to wear green, if we didn’t we got pinched!

This is post is regarding our Glad Creations, Faceted Jewels swap we are doing. This time we will be swapping 50 scrappy dark flying geese, but you will be making 52. For a pattern illustration you can refer to page 3 and see step 2 towards the end.

You will need to cut 52 assorted dark 3-inch squares. From my experience it is more work going through your scraps, but it is more resourceful than cutting from your yardage, so I took the longer road and used scraps.

my 52, 3 inch squares

my 52, 3 inch squares

Should you want to use yardage, one strip yields 13 squares, therefore needing to cut 4 strips. I now feel the urge that I should organize my scrap bins to sizes that was recommended by Bonnie Hunter of Quiltville.com, just not today. Ha!

For the inside of the geese you will need 13, 5-½ inch squares. From yardage you should choose 2 different darks and cut one strip at 5 ½ wide, to yield 13 squares. I decided to pick 13 (almost) different fabrics.

13, 5 1/2 inch squares

13, 5 1/2 inch squares

You will use your Deb Tucker wing clipper ruler as you did in month 3 to trim down to 2 ½ x 4 ½. The finished size of your flying geese is 2×4.

Please be sure to use 3 different fabrics in each flying geese and when sorting your geese, no one should have a duplicated goose unit. Sometimes I try to make this clear and I’ve been told that I’m more confusing at times, I apologize in advance – sometimes it is hard to explain. Should you have any questions please feel free to call me or email me.

2 flying geese all finished and ready, 50 more

2 flying geese all finished and ready, 50 more

In sorting, please make 10 piles with 5 in each stack, you will keep the 2 odds ones for your quilt.

I didn’t get mine all done yet, but they are in progress!
I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

