What’s Old Is New Again

Hello, if you are still out there! I know it has been a long time since blogged but things have been crazy, I guess more so than my usual trying to get the store ready and do samples, etc. I’ve had a lot to write about but not that much time to write and when I stopped I was tired! Plus I had started a blog several weeks ago and I had computer problems and lost it, since I had not saved it I decided to not do it at all.

I decided to open my shop Monday – Saturday from 10 to 5:30, so if you are in the area please stop in and see me, I’d love to see you! It has been a lot of fun getting it all done and I think I’m about settled in. I’ve got free sit and sew dates posted on my website calendar, maybe you can join in for those too.

Yesterday we got the news that my cabinet was ready for pick up and David and I picked it up at Town & Country Sales.

I wanted to show you what it looked like in the beginning! I loved the piece but the years had taken its toll on it and since it was in bad shape and it was recessed into my kitchen plus it would impact my kitchen cabinets and placement of my refrigerator I decided to get David to take it out. I asked him to save it and maybe we could re-use it later.

this is what it looked like in the beginning

you can see the false bottom better now

Later finally came in January. We took it over to T&C and I asked them to build a bottom, as it had a false bottom, no legs, just the drawers built into the wall.

this is the front of the cabinet

the doors

Once it came time for them to work on it, I worked with them on the design and asked them to just mirror the bottom and to use the drawers that we had.

They had to strip out the top half and the drawers and we took a lot of our old wood over there for them to use and hopefully my original glass doors would survive all of the work.

One of the biggest surprises on this piece was the bead board back. It was beautiful and I told him that I wanted them to flip the back to the inside and they did!

the back of the cabinet

Little by little the piece was transformed! I am so pleased – I guess that’s an understatement! I love it!

before it was stained

We brought it home yesterday and I moved things around today and now it has a place to shine! Thankfully, Joseph was off and was able to help David get it into the shop! Thank you David and Joseph, I appreciate your help so very much!

before taking it home

in its new home

I hope to see you soon!
I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s Old Is New Again

  1. Beautiful cabinet and what a treasure. Thank you for saving it and sharing the pictures with us.

  2. Love your new cabinet! Puts me in the mood to redo something!!

  3. Barbara F. says:

    The cabinet is beautiful! I must have missed an update . . . where is your shop? Would love to see some pictures (in all your spare time! ha! ha!)

  4. ronda926 says:

    thank you! the shop is located on the retreat house property at the end of the driveway! I guess I have something else to write about! wink!

Leave a Reply

