My Fake Wall

Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?

Several months ago, we had the opportunity to buy some Ikea storage closet units from one of David’s coworkers. They have great storage ability, but they did not have any doors and the thought of people or Me going up the stairs into the room and seeing open shelved storage was not appealing to me one bit.

here’s what we started with

At first I thought that I’d get our contractor, John to build a closet around them and then I decided that I really didn’t like that idea either, so I came up with the idea of turning their backs into the room and we could get some of that thin bead board paneling to cover the backs and then I could use the back “wall” to hang a quilt on it. After all, I have several quilts that I could put on display.

While we were moving out of our storage unit I noticed we had a good bit of shiplap and I got the idea that we should use the shiplap instead of the bead board. David could not wrap his mind around that because there was no frame. One morning I woke up with an epiphany and I told David I had an idea of how he could do it. I drew him a crude picture and the plan was formulated! Hence, our fake wall came to be.

the frame David made

this is our plan

David worked on the frame over a week ago and then he worked on the end boards, the sides. He has been working on it in place! I’m enjoying the progress!

frame is in place

a side view

one end done

the other end is done

We were out of town last weekend, so no real progress until this weekend. David took all the wood that we saved from the old exterior building walls to our home, dried them out while we were gone and then began cleaning them up. He scraped paint and sanded all the wood down and by Friday morning he was ready to finish up my fake wall.

our wood drying out

Friday we drove to Baytown and picked up my antique sofa at Town and Country Sales. I have sure enjoyed working with them, they are a family owned business and they are so pleasant to work with. Should you ever need any furniture work, I highly recommend them! I love my old sofa and I think they did an excellent job in redoing it!

After we got back to LaPorte we got the sofa out of the truck and it was so heavy it just sat in shop area. We hung several small quilts and after we got as many hung, as I knew where to hang, David started on finishing my fake wall.

He worked and worked, I assisted every now and then but by 3 he had finished it! We both were very pleased with the outcome and thought it come out nicely! David told me that he was glad I came up with the idea and so was I!

here it goes

more progress

all done!

I called our neighbor, Josh to see if he would help David move the sofa upstairs and he graciously agreed. Thank goodness he was able to help, otherwise it would still be there!

and my sofa in place!

Now I just have to figure out if I want to paint it or not. If I paint it, should it be white or gray like the walls? I think the gray would look the best. David did a fabulous job, thanks babe!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Fake Wall

  1. Lori says:

    Looks great

  2. pamelake says:

    Please paint it gray. Quickly.

  3. karlasal says:

    It looks great just the way it is!!!

  4. Cyndi Dunahoe says:

    I like it the way it is… maybe just seal the wood.

Leave a Reply

