Incentive

It is nice when incentive equals deadline or maybe it is the other way around.

Friday I got in some sewing time and worked on my half-squares for Miller Manor, I got them all stitched and cut, David was kind enough to pull papers for me. Now I need to press and cut off the ears and then I’ll be able to construct the blocks.

all of my half-squares ready for some heat

I also got all 12 of my alternating blocks finished. They were easy peasy!

my alternating block

I got a letter from the Shipshewana Quilt Festival stating they saw my work at the Houston Quilt Festival back in November and they asked me if I would consider entering a quilt in their quilt show in June 2017.

I was shocked and wondered if they really meant to send it to me or maybe they just sent letters to a bunch of people. Either way, I was honored and very appreciative of it and just might enter. Now I just need to figure out what I want to enter in the show.

One quilt came to mind and it was my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere In Time and I just might enter my Red Crinoline Quilt, Oak Alley, but I need to get it finished with the label, sleeve and binding. Receiving the letter was great incentive to push me to get that quilt ready to finish. I got the sleeve and label ready and attached the binding.

Saturday we drove to Tyler to see Adley’s dance recital, with my quilt in tow and I worked on my binding all the way there! It made me think, should I give myself deadlines. Ha!

Adley getting ready

We had a great time watching Adley and the rest of the classes at the recital. It is fun to see how all the kids react to being on stage. One poor little girl got on stage and didn’t move an inch and just stood there and then she started crying. Poor thing, the teacher had to carry her off stage.

our happy little dancer!

Kara, Bennett, Adley and Kyle

Bennett at 10 months

I finished my binding Sunday morning! Wahoo! We went back over to Kyle’s house for a brief visit and then we headed to Hughes Plant Farm to get a few plants for the retreat house and get some to spruce up our house. We should have gotten more plants, but it was a good thing we stopped when we did – we ran out of room in the car. We got some really nice plants!

cart #1

cart #2

all loaded in the car

We drove home and on our way home we decided we needed to go ahead and get them planted when we got home. So we did! Otherwise I would have to plant them myself and it was wonderful to have David’s help planting them all. A Win, Win!!!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Incentive

  1. marysalmon says:

    I love your block. Simple elegance.
    Mary

Leave a Reply

