Building Updates

Progress is slow, but steady. I had hoped it would be finished by the end of March but not so much.

John got the bead board installed in the half bath and I decided what color I wanted on the doors and the bead board. I did like the blue but it was a little too shabby looking and not really the look I was going for, so it got painted too.

bead board complete

I had looked at different blues but I finally decided on Sherwin Williams Inkwell. The other blues seemed a little bright and I wanted a dark, rich color and this was the winner. It is more of a blue black and really like its name, reminds me of an inkwell. I am very happy with the color.

my screen door was the Guinea pig

If you look close, you might see 4 colors of blue. Choosing a paint color is hard for me, especially when you are looking at a two-inch square and trying to imagine it in its new place.

upstairs doors

bathroom door

half bathroom

I did some research on under stair storage and I met with John and we finally worked out all the logistics of how I wanted it to work out and what would work best for the space. This is what we have so far in order to capture extra storage.

the beginning of our plan for storage

more progress on storage

Basically we are doing a cabinet with a door and then have a pull out drawer or shelf.

more progress on the storage

We did hit a snag with the stair posts. They worked hard at trying to get it in but it just did not look right at all to me. I gave them some ideas of how I thought it could look better, all the different angels on the short rail weren’t working for me. I also didn’t like how the 2 different shapes on the post looked, so they are going to get matching posts for me.

my stair posts

this looks better but not final

Tuesday I went to Huffman to watch Jaiden and Dylan while Josh and Angela went to Nashville for a training session. I had forgotten how much work it is to get kids up and off to school. I’m tired, but we had a good time and I even cooked two meals and made them some chocolate no-bake cookies.

chocolate no bake cookies

Wyatt and Kynlee

I love her expression

and who can resist a puppy kiss

Thursday night the boys and I went to Crosby to watch Wyatt and Kynlee play in their T-ball game. That was funny, only a couple of them really knew what was going on, but Jaiden was glad to help Aunt Katie out by assisting Wyatt in the field. I always say if you don’t have game, as least you can look good. They all looked really cute!

Kynlee

it’s a family thing!

While I was gone, David worked on attaching my sewing machine drawers to my Singer treadle stand. It looks great and I can’t wait to see how it all plays out.

sewing machine progress

The stairs and beam got stained, they sure look different – I really like how they are coming along.

stained stairs

stained beam

David and I took the treadle base over and put it in the half bath this evening. It sure looks different now. The top is what I used but not what we will end up using, it is just there to get an idea of things to come.

my machine in the half bath

That’s all I have for now! I am truly blessed, I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

