Magic Finish

Rodeo is in full swing, my first shift was the Thursday night and Chris Stapleton performed. It was a sold out performance and it was very busy. I sold $7,645 worth of drink tickets – there were a LOT of thirsty people out there! At least it made for a short (fast) shift.

Friday and Saturday we had a good turn out for a “sit and sew” at the retreat house. I worked on my Primitive Gatherings, Magic of Christmas top. I got my last pieced borders done and did some calculating on how wide it needed to be. I have to say that was the easy part and it was pretty easy adding the cream border.

I like to get an idea of what it might look like

For some reason I just thought I’d get the pieced border on and BAM, add the outer border and then I’d be done. Well the pieced border had a laugh and for some reason I could not figure out where I needed to start and stop on the border. I put on one border and then I had to put it down.

Success was not going to happen on Sunday! I went to bed thinking and planning on how was I going to get it attached like it needed to be.

We did get to pick a new addition to put in the house or rather David picked it up for me at Town and Country Sales, located in Baytown. They reupholstered an antique phone chair for me. I love it! They did a great job!

look at my newly reupholstered phone chair

Monday morning I woke up and went right to work. I pulled out my Jinny Beyer, Perfect Piecer tool. This is the best little tool for working on strange points of any kind. It shows you were to stop and start on sewing, and is essential when piecing feathered stars and diagonal corners.

perfect piecer tool

pins help too

you can put a little dot to know where to stop

I sewed and I got it all figured out and best of all I got all four corners sewn on and it laid flat!

two borders on

all pieced borders on

Now to put on the outside border! Magic of Christmas is done!

Magic of Christmas finished

Little progress is happening with the addition at the retreat house – trim is being done and doors are hung. I like the progress and I’m making some decisions on tile and paint colors. This is the fun part!

door to the utility closet

back corner

upstairs bath door hung

shower work

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Rodeo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Magic Finish

  1. globrister says:

    I love The Magic of Christmas Quilt. You are very talented. You should teach or speak at guilds.

    Have a great week. g

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Proud for you. Love you.

  3. Congratulations, your border is perfect!! Darling telephone chair–love the owls!!

Leave a Reply

