Quilts Around Us

I thought I would share some of the precious quilts that I saw at Houston Hospice a few weeks ago when I went to see Sandy before she passed.

Houston Hospice is located on Holcombe Street on the edge of the Houston Medical Center. If you aren’t from this area, our Med Center is one to behold! We are truly blessed to be surrounded by an amazing health care system and it is nice to know that it is in our backyard.

When I walked in, one of the first things I noticed was a bright quilt hanging on the wall. Linda and I looked at it and admired it. It was nice to know that quilts can be all around us and how comforting they can be.

our welcome quilt

our welcome quilt

As we walked to the room we noticed there were quilts in the hall and most dated back to c. 1900. The quilts were dated and donated to commemorate loved ones that had stayed there.

These are the quilts that I was able to photo. I only took a few. I hope you enjoy them; hopefully the pictures will relay their beauty.

The first quilt was quilted in black thread; I thought that was unusual for that time period.

loved this 9-patch and notice the quilting thread

loved this 9-patch and notice the quilting thread

more of the 9-patch

more of the 9-patch

another view of the 9-patch

another view of the 9-patch

wedding ring quilt

wedding ring quilt

I loved this one, we had a hard time finding the block because we could not see the seams

I loved this one, we had a hard time finding the block because we could not see the seams

a close up

a close up

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilts Around Us

  1. Thank you for sharing the hospice quilts–they add so much beauty and comfort to that situation. The Houston medical center is the reason we’ve stayed in Houston after retirement. Why move away at a time of life when one needs it too frequently. Thanks for that detail, it’s a block I’m not familiar with also–a great scrappy pattern!!

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Very nice.

Leave a Reply

