Yard Spring Cleaning

David and I went over to the retreat house yesterday and did some yard work. He did edging, mowing and blowing and I did some bed work. I had done some dead heading but decided to do more. I was really glad to see all of my begonias coming back. I was scared that they would not return and they were one of my favorites! They were so nice and round, but not anymore. Oh well, they are on the upswing, or should I say on the “upspring”. Ha!

flower beds

flower beds

rose bush.  it has a crepe myrtle growing in it.  I'll need to separate it later

rose bush. it has a crepe myrtle growing in it. I’ll need to separate it later

The azaleas are really doing well as well as the drift rose bushes. I did cut back some of the rose bushes, but some of the flowers are blooming. I do love spring and enjoy seeing the rebirth of plants.

another flower bed

another flower bed

Yesterday I was cleaning out one of my Hosta plants and reached down to pull out a leaf, but it was NOT a leaf, it was a huge butterfly of some sort and it was hairy!!! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like that! Does anyone know anything about it?

look at this butterfly

look at this butterfly

it looks like it has a hairy mustache

it looks like it has a hairy mustache

They did finish all the sheetrock today, now they need to finish all the mud work – pretty exciting to me!

downstairs

downstairs

downstairs

downstairs

upstairs

upstairs

upstairs

upstairs

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Yard Spring Cleaning

  1. Patricia Edens - Lake Charles, LA says:

    Yes, Spring has sprung, weeds & all. 😂 I believe that is a “moth” and not a butterfly. I have seen it before but I could be mistaken.
    I love the smell of new construction! It is so exciting to see the progress. Is it more sleeping & working area in addition to the house?

    • ronda926 says:

      yes, I did find some weeds. Ha! someone told me it was a silk moth. I enjoy the sound of the saw, knowing that something is being made. it will be more sleeping and work area.

  2. globrister says:

    The flower beds are looking so pretty. I think you must have a magic green thumb. I’m not seeing beautiful bedding Galveston yet.

    The new building looks fantastic. It’s come a long way since I was there just a month ago. Keep posting updates; I’m excited too.

    Have a wonderful week.

    g

  3. Jane Lemley says:

    Wondered where you live that begonias winter over. I live in SW North Carolina and I bring my begonias in for the winter. Do yours die back in the winter. Love your newsletter! Jane

    • ronda926 says:

      I’m in the coastal area of Houston, Texas and normally it doesn’t freeze here or very often. Last winter we didn’t even have a freeze so it was garden friendly, but we had a couple of nights that it did freeze and I didn’t cover anything so I lost my begonias and pentas. thank you for reading and commenting!

      • Jane Lemley says:

        Well, unfortunately we get quite a bit of freezing weather but right now we are in a false Spring and everything is blooming or budding out with upcoming freezing weather. Your garden is lovely! J

  4. Laura says:

    It is a silk moth.

Leave a Reply

