Just One More

How many times do you say that? Whether it pertains to one more bite of food, one more cup of coffee, one more lap around the track, one more mile or even it is about one more yard of fabric, one more block or one more border?

Thursday, I was working on my Farm Girl Vintage and I was trying to push to the end of my flying geese border and I was a little anxious and wanted to do something else, so I said one more border and then I would take a break! So I did!

I had to move a couple of blocks.  done!

I had to move a couple of blocks. done!

white border added

white border added

106 flying geese

106 flying geese

flying geese sewn on

flying geese sewn on

When I’m nearing the end of a project, I like to start thinking of the next project and how I want to play with the colors and what fabrics to use. So after I got 2 of my 4 flying geese borders I decided to play with fabrics for my Sew Kind of Wonderful, Mod Owls pattern.

My Sears Kit house was labeled as a Modern house for her time. Kind of funny, what does “modern” mean!?

my Modern home

my Modern home

As I was thinking about “one more” I really got to thinking of one more hug or one more conversation with a loved one that wasn’t here anymore. With so many people passing away it really makes one stop and think about life and what our choices are, etc. so choose wisely grasshopper!

Thursday I drove over to the retreat house to see or check on progress and see how things are taking shape. We are finally getting to the good part and I can really see how things take shape. Sheetrock was delivered! Wahoo!

insulation in the first floor

insulation in the first floor

going up the stairs

going up the stairs

upstairs

upstairs

upstairs

upstairs

sheetrock delivered

sheetrock delivered

upstairs

upstairs

About half of the sheetrock was installed on Friday, but not finished yet. I keep telling myself – progress is progress!

sheetrock on the walls

sheetrock on the walls

it looks so different with the white walls

it looks so different with the white walls

upstairs

upstairs

another view upstairs

another view upstairs

During the sit and sew on Friday and Saturday I worked on my Primitive Gatherings, Magic of Christmas finishing and it is coming along. I got all of my sashing done and it is now all pieced together. I am working on the pieced borders.

sashing done, now to sew it all together

sashing done, now to sew it all together

img_3843

I left the girls alone while I went to Bonnie’s funeral. The service was very nice and Brandon and Aaron did a great job officiating the funeral. Brok drove down and he even wore his uniform. Please keep the family in your prayers as they learn to live without their wife, mother, sister, daughter in law, and aunt.

look at this handsome man in a uniform

look at this handsome man in a uniform

We had a great time, I hope you consider joining me for the next two weekends to sit and sew. March 3rd and 4th and also on March 10th and 11th. Let me know if you want to come.

First thing Saturday I decided it was time to put the last border on my Lori Holt, Farm Girl Vintage. It is done and I’m one happy city girl! Ha!

Farm Girl Vintage finished

Farm Girl Vintage finished

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just One More

  1. Lori says:

    Quilts and house look great!

  2. Congratulations on two more gorgeous quilts!! Thank you for the Sears house information–a different age which you have transformed into a wonderful contemporary luxury home. Can’t wait for the next retreat, your shop should be ready!!

  3. Barbara F. says:

    Enjoy reading your posts and seeing all your beautiful projects. LOVE the teal colored border you chose for your Farm Girl Vintage project. Makes me want to dig mine out and get it finished!

Leave a Reply

