Sew on the Go

I hope you had a good week and weekend, was it productive enough for you?

Tuesday afternoon I reported in for “Granny duty” while Josh and Angela were in California for her work related training. I got to drive to Huffman and watch Jaiden and Dylan. I got to fix dinner/breakfast and get them to school and around for baseball practice. I forgot what it was like being a taxi driver for active school age kids. Whoosh, it was a lot.

Dylan and his school project, he's 10

Dylan and his school project, he’s 10

Jaiden and I outside.  I love being there as they get off the bus!

Jaiden, he’s 11. outside! I love being there as they get off the bus!

I was a little paranoid that I was going to forget something, but thankfully that did not happen. I do have a funny incident to relay. Wednesday morning Jaiden had late arrival day and didn’t have to be at school until 9:20. The night before we strategized who would be getting up first and that I was going to fix pancakes for breakfast. I got Dylan up and then Jaiden and they both got ready for school and ate. I got Dylan off to school and then it was Jaiden’s turn. We got in the car and Jaiden noticed what time it was. He said, “Mimi, I don’t know if they will let me in this early”. It was 7:50! Whoops! I’m not normally early by any means, much less 1 hour and 20 minutes!

We sat in the parking lot a couple of minutes and then I got the idea that we could go get gas and some coffee and hopefully that would eat up some time. That did help, he was still early but it was better.

Thursday morning rolled around and Jaiden had to be at school at 7:20, he asked me if I was going to get him there at 5:00? We laughed!

While they were at school I got to work on some of my hand stitching. I worked on my Primitive Gatherings, My Crazy Life. Upon further investigation I realized that I had a lot more stitching – I was to do that crazy blanket stitch on every seam. That was an eye opener! Ugh! I got one block done and started on the second.

ok, all my stitching done on the seams.

ok, all my stitching done on the seams.

more thread

more thread

I also had taken several of my small quilts to work on binding. I didn’t pack all the different thread colors that I should have but I got as many bindings, sleeves and labels sewn down as I could. I did get 2 completely finished! Wahoo!

Sleeve down, finally!

Sleeve down, finally!

this one done completely

this one done completely

Red Crinoline, Petite Stars.  this one done!

Red Crinoline, Petite Stars. this one done!

label too!

label too!

I got the label and sleeve down, I forgot my black thread.

I got the label and sleeve down, I forgot my black thread.

I got both labels attached and one sleeve.

I got both labels attached and one sleeve.

I also packed my sewing machine and a small kit that I’ve been wanting to work on just in case I got everything finished. Why do I always think I will or can get more done than I do? Do you do that too?

I love that my hobby is portable!

I love that my hobby is portable!

and I even packed my little iron!

and I even packed my little iron!

of course, I needed my sewing machine!

of course, I needed my sewing machine!

I could have worked on my hand stitching but I decided to cut out my Red Crinoline, Little Bear Paw quilt. I got it cut out and preceded to get to work. Those blocks are so cute! I got all my blocks made and all the rows done too.

Josh and Angela came home in the wee hours of Friday morning but I got the boys off to school and then decided to head on home. I did have a great time with the boys; they are growing up so fast.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew on the Go

  1. globrister says:

    You have so much energy and are so organized = get so much done. I wish I could say the same about myself. I have granny duty this week 😁 Yay for me!

    Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

