Looking for Normal

Wednesday morning it was time to leave our place in Palm Springs and go to see more of San Diego. As we left it was nice to see the snow topped mountains, it was pretty cold while we were there and such a change of scenery for us, as we don’t get to see mountains or snow.

part of our view driving to San Diego

part of our view driving to San Diego

David kindly drove me back to Murrieta so I could take a few pictures of Primitive Gatherings CA shop. It was pretty much on our way to San Diego and I was thrilled to go there without all the rain. The shop was hopping with people, so we got permission to take a few photos and off we went. It is a must go to stop if you are in the area! You will not be disappointed!

Primitive Gatherings CA

Primitive Gatherings CA

a little sampling

a little sampling

another view inside the shop

another view inside the shop

some of the friendliest staff

some of the friendliest staff

We drove on to San Diego and decided that we would stop off to grab a bite for lunch. I did a phone search for lunch places and I saw a place called Mitch’s Seafood. We are always in for that, now we just had to find it. We thought we followed the phone directions but as we got to the bay and we could not find it, but we did find this place called Pointe Loma Seafood and it was busy, which in my mind is a great sign. We found a parking place and we were off for another adventure. As we walked in, I was expecting a tableside restaurant but that was not to be found. We found a seafood market and aerial menu and people were standing behind the meat counter asking what we wanted. It was hard to pick, but after we decided we went to the upstairs and outside dining area. It was a beautiful 58 degrees and breezy, but what a tableside view we had! The food was wonderful too; if we ever go back we will have to try it again.

seafood market

seafood market

look at the seafood

look at the seafood

part of the harbor

part of the harbor

another view of the harbor

another view of the harbor

David and I tried to take a selfie, it was way too sunny and we were dorks

David and I tried to take a selfie, it was way too sunny and we were dorks

another view of me being blinded

another view of me being blinded

our best selfie

our best selfie

Sully was not having any trouble at all

Sully was not having any trouble at all

After lunch we went to Cabrillo National Monument and it was beautiful. There was also Old Point Loma lighthouse built in 1854 and served until 1891 and eventually closed but is one of the most visited national monuments. As we were driving in we noticed to the right and left of the road that there was cemetery markers, like what we’ve seen at Arlington and the markers just went on for a long way. Later we found out it was called Rosecrans National Cemetery. The U.S. military sure knows how to construct a cemetery; it was incredibly beautiful!

part of the view driving to the monument

part of the view driving to the monument

entering the park

entering the park

the lighthouse

the lighthouse

view of the bay

view of the bay

another view from the lighthouse

another view from the lighthouse

Cabrillo monument

Cabrillo monument

the cemetery entrance

the cemetery entrance

part of the cemetery

part of the cemetery

there were so many markers

there were so many markers

img_3606

img_3607

img_3609

img_3619

We later checked into a hotel near the airport so that it was be an easy to return the car and then get to the airport. Our last day there was beautiful too: we had a great time, even though it rained so much and I was able to get all the stitching done that I could have on my Primitive Gatherings, My Crazy Life.

my crazy life blocks

my crazy life blocks

my blocks done

my blocks done

Now we are home and working to get things back to normal. I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and Hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Looking for Normal

  1. Lori says:

    Glad you had a good time. I showed my husband your beautiful retreat house. The new addition is large and looks very nice.

  2. Loucat says:

    A nice journey ! I read your posts from France, but it’s the first time I comment.

Leave a Reply

