Coming Together

United we stand, Divided we fall, if our backs should ever be against the wall, we’ll be together, together you and I. I love the words to that song and I love the idea of unity. I really do feel like that when we work together we can achieve so much more. As I’ve mentioned before I love to plan and it makes me feel good when it all comes together.

A few months ago I got a great quilt kit from Red Crinoline Quilts called Oak Alley. It’s a beautiful quilt and since I had a retreat at the beginning of December, I thought I would do my prep work and get it all cut out so that I could make the 13 blocks.

I was able to get them all made at the retreat. Wahoo!

my 13 blocks

my 13 blocks

Assembly went well and I really like how the quilt turned out. Thank you Paula, I can’t wait to get it quilted.

coming together

coming together

it is finished

it is finished

A few months back I worked on a bunch of those cute little sawtooth stars that finish at 2 inches. Well I moved the blocks around enough until it was time to “fish or cut bait”. So I went to work on a little design, I drew one up. I really love basket blocks, so I thought I could incorporate the sawtooth blocks with basket blocks. I found a basket block that I hadn’t made before (baby bunting) and thought it would go pretty cute with my sawtooth stars. Well as luck would have it, the basket would look much better on point. The baby bunting blocks finish at 4 inches and I used 2 ½ inch squares with the sawtooth stars.

When I showed you the design the other day I wasn’t too sure about it, but I decided to do it anyway but that meant that I needed to find setting triangle, inner border and outer border.

I played around and this was my final result.

my bunt cakes

my bunt cakes

After I finished my little quilt I got one of my Lori Holt, Farm Girl Vintage blocks done. This pie is fat-free! LOL

blueberry pie block

blueberry pie block

I got to sew with a couple of friends today in LaPorte and also watch progress on the addition. I thought I would share! Oh boy!

front view from the driveway

front view from the driveway

side next to the classroom

side next to the classroom

view from alley

view from alley

down - utility closet

down – utility closet

half bath

half bath

front left corner

front left corner

another view of the front

another view of the front

bath and closet

bath and closet

upstairs to right

upstairs to right

upstairs to left

upstairs to left

corner

corner

a view of the downstairs

a view of the downstairs

full bath

full bath

at the top of the stairs

at the top of the stairs

from the stairs to the front

from the stairs to the front

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home remodel, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Together

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Looks real nice.

Leave a Reply

