Last Day of 2016

This year has been a great year, some good things and some bad things. Some I wish I could do over and of course there are some things I wished never happened, but they did and life just takes a different road than I had planned for. My family and friends forever enrich me, I wish them all a rich and blessed 2017!

There have been a lot of lives that have crossed over to the other side, as I watched the 2016 In Memoriam, on the news it brought tears to my eyes to see how many people really did pass and those are only the ones that are “famous”. I lost some precious souls from my original church home in Channelview and a precious, life long family friend, my son in law’s, father and a sweet sewing friend.

Onto a brighter note, the middle of November, David and I decided to begin our last and final phase of our retreat project in LaPorte. We started with the demolition of the garage/storage building on our property. I have never been so ready to say goodbye to an ugly building! Who knew it would take a couple of weeks for it to be gone.

before

before

dumpster time

dumpster time

roof gone

roof gone

sides gone

sides gone

down to the floor

down to the floor

concrete all broken up

concrete all broken up

December started with the forms being set and then the concrete pour and materials were delivered on the 16th.

getting ready for new

getting ready for new

forms layed out

forms layed out

oh how sweet - love the pour

oh how sweet – love the pour

materials delivered

materials delivered

Studs started going up on the 19th and walls on the 20th. The upstairs began to appear too, which was all extremely exciting for me.

corners set

corners set

sides going up

sides going up

plans are taking shape

plans are taking shape

utility area

utility area

all the sides set on main floor

all the sides set on main floor

top appearing

top appearing

from the drive

from the drive

stairs!

stairs!

from the front

from the front

With all that was going on with the holidays and family things, I missed going to LP a couple of days, I drove over on the 28th and I had stairs and I could really see the shape of the front from the driveway.

south side

south side

main floor

main floor

from the alley

from the alley

from the alley back corner

from the alley back corner

another main floor view

another main floor view

part of the landing going upstairs

part of the landing going upstairs

side view

side view

I love going over there after they have finished for the day, see how it looks from upstairs! It is going to be pretty spacious upstairs!

upstairs has a sub-floor

upstairs has a sub-floor

one upstairs corner

one upstairs corner

front view

front view

upstairs

upstairs

another upstairs

David and I got to go out for an early dinner at Opus, in Clear Lake Shores. It was very delicious! Now it’s jammie time, maybe I’ll be awake when the new year arrives!

David and I at dinner

David and I at dinner

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last Day of 2016

  1. Lori says:

    What is the new building going to be?

  2. globrister says:

    Happy New Year. I’m looking forward to seeing the progress on the new house. Will it be an addition to the retreat house?

  3. Charlene says:

    How exciting!

Leave a Reply

