Thankful

I know it has been a good while since I’ve written so instead of doing a long blog post; I will just do a little story.

I hope you all had a great thanksgiving last week and got lots of great food to eat. It is my personal favorite holiday; all you have to do is show up with food and eat! Well, not exactly but that is true for the most part. I truly have so much to be thankful for, so it is easy to get emotional – I’m a big crybaby! I got so emotional watching a silly commercial I had to go outside. The commercial was with Brad Garrett (big brother in Everybody Loves Raymond) singing, “There’s no place like home for the holidays”. I love that song and every time I hear it, it evokes emotion.

Anyway, this Thanksgiving David and I went to McKinney to spend the time with my sister, Penny and her family. My brother, Grady also came with his 3 kids and we enjoyed our special time together.

Oh, a side note – we had the best food and the dessert bar was the best EVER! We got this gig down! 😉

Penny doing a taste test

Penny doing a taste test

Steve decided to have a little dessert first

Steve decided to have a little dessert first

some of our yummy food!

some of our yummy food!

our dessert bar

our dessert bar

digging in

digging in

Andrew made Goat Cheesecake, it was wonderful

Andrew made Goat Cheesecake, it was wonderful

my dessert plate at half-time!

my dessert plate at half-time!

On another note regarding being thankful, I had the privilege to make a quilt called “Lucky Stars” and then give it away. My friend, Peggy is battling breast cancer and I know she loves “shabby chic” style and pastels.

Peggy brought a group to the retreat house right after festival and I was able to get the quilt made pretty quickly and even sent off to the quilter and got it all finished up before she left to go home.

I got the quilt back Saturday morning from Cindy Gravely. Thank you, Cindy for a quick turnaround! I took it home to write the label and sew on the binding. We had a football game to go to in Splendora, so it was my “travel” project. I got 2 sides done and then took it to finish up at the retreat house after the ballgame.

a close up

a close up

myself and Peggy with her new quilt

myself and Peggy with her new quilt

the back to show quilting

the back to show quilting

my label for Peggy's quilt

my label for Peggy’s quilt

After I got it finished, I asked Peggy if she wanted to see my finished quilt and then let her read the label. As she was reading it out loud, she realized it was for her! It was very emotional. I hope it is her secret weapon of strength, and it reminds her that she is loved and in my prayers for a full recovery! Peggy, you are a courageous fighter, I love you, and the world is a better place with you in it!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

