Golf to Hurricane Matthew

David and some of his golf buddies planned a weekend getaway but there were only 3 guys to attend so they ended up asking the wives if we wanted to join up. We originally had 3 couples that were going to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, but one of the couples decided to stay home due to unstable conditions in the area. David wanted to help with the trees if they needed help, so off we went with golf clubs in tow. You know they can’t work “all” the time! Ha!

We left Thursday evening and flew into Jacksonville, Florida and then drove a little over 2.5 hours to HHI. We got there really late or early – just depends on how you want to look at it. We all slept in Friday morning and then it was time to see how hard the island was hit by Hurricane Matthew. Luckily, Ed and Michelle’s place didn’t sustain much damage – a little roof damage and several downed trees.

Friday they worked on cutting up trees and moving the limbs into piles so that the tree company could come and pick it all up. After several hours of work it was time to take a break and have some refreshments at The Salty Dog Café and then went to dinner at Poseidon. It was great to sit and relax by listening to music and then our dinner was wonderful!

working on the trees

working on the trees

a lot of brush to move around

a lot of brush to move around

this is just a small stack of the trees they cut up

this is just a small stack of the trees they cut up

I'm the official photographer.  ha

I’m the official photographer. ha

Oh, one of the best things we did on our way to dinner was go to the “owner’s beach”. We got there around 5:30 and headed out. There was a lot of damage to some of the walkways that got you directly on the beach, but this one was good. We walked out and it was not crowded at all. The beaches were nice and the water was beautiful and a bonus of a beautiful sunset.

off into the sunset

off into the sunset

and there she is!

and there she is!

Michelle and Ed

Michelle and Ed

David and I

David and I

amazing

amazing

you can't just take one photo

you can’t just take one photo

I loved seeing the sand look like the sky

I loved seeing the sand look like the sky

loved this view

loved this view

another view of the sunset between the trees

another view of the sunset between the trees

Another thing was the sand blowing on the beach. I don’t know if it was timing or what, but I have never seen anything like it before. We watched the sand blow across the beach. I didn’t think about recording the video until later but this video gives you an little idea of what it was like, I wished I had taken a video of the earlier view.

for some reason I could not get the video to load

Saturday we started with a walk to breakfast at the country club at Links. It was great and then we toured the clubhouse! These guys know how do a locker room/restroom!

walking to breakfast Saturday

walking to breakfast Saturday

I'm so glad these trees were safe and sound

I’m so glad these trees were safe and sound

inside the clubhouse ladies room

inside the clubhouse ladies room

ladies locker room

ladies locker room

for the tired and weary golfers.  ha

for the tired and weary golfers. ha

and just in case they are hungry!  I had a gingersnap.

and just in case they are hungry! I had a gingersnap.

I got this picture on our walk back to the house!

our view walking back from breakfast

our view walking back from breakfast

The guys played golf, so we dropped them off and we had about 6 hours to kill. Michelle knew of these little shops in an area town called Bluffton and off we went. As we got closer to the area, we saw signs posting about “event parking”. Ugh, that kind of made me nervous because that is not something you want to see in the Houston area (way too many people for me). We managed to find a good parking spot and off we went. We just happened upon their Seafood, Arts & Craft town event and it was very enjoyable. The weather was perfect, the food was delicious and so were all of the vendors.

We just had a perfect day and guess what else just happened to be available…a mini quilt show! We decided to go in, it was free and we were killing time anyway. The show had about 90 small/miniature quilts in this charming old library styled building and it was nice to vote and see what they had. As I was leaving I talked to one of the members and they said they had started their guild about 2 years ago and thought this would be a good way to get started. It was really fun.

the feature quilt

the feature quilt

mini quilts

mini quilts

mini quilts

mini quilts

more mini's

more mini’s

small quilts

small quilts

small ones

small ones

another small one.  I like this pattern, I don't think I've seen it done in batiks - interesting

another small one. I like this pattern, I don’t think I’ve seen it done in batiks – interesting

a few more

a few more

their guild sign

their guild sign

After we picked up the guys we went back to their home and later had dinner at Mellow Mushroom. It is a hamburger/pizza place – it was one of the best pizza’s David and I have ever had. They have a new location coming in the Heights, so now I can’t wait to go get another pie.

Sunday was our last full day there and we had a lot to fit in. We started off with our breakfast at Lowcountry Produce Market & Café. We actually rode our bikes there and we had the nicest breakfast there. I had to explain how I wanted my food “unstacked” (I don’t like my food all mixed up) and David ordered their homemade doughnuts. I loved how they served their holes!

homemade doughnuts

homemade doughnuts

After breakfast we drove our bikes around town and just had the best time! We also rode over to Stoney-Baynard House, it is ruins of an 1840 plantation house. Even though it was just ruins it was still fun to see it and try to image what it was like in the day.

the ruins

the ruins

another view, loved the kiss of the sun in this picture

another view, loved the kiss of the sun in this picture

another view of the house before

another view of the house before

this said c.1799, not sure?

this said c.1790, not sure?

After that we rode to the beach, this cruising was just the life for me. Riding on the bike path under the trees and enjoying the views of everything. It is hard to believe that there were so many trees that were lost, the sound of chainsaws filled the air. It was sad to see all the tree damage!

this is where our bike path got blown away

this is where our bike path got blown away

off we ride down the beach

off we ride down the beach

On the beach Michelle saw this “white” crab, I just had to stop and take his photo! He was so cute! Then it was refreshment time again. We stopped at Ocean’s and just enjoyed the view. It was so nice!

Mr Crab!

Mr Crab!

I went out and took their picture while they rested.  ha!

I went out and took their picture while they rested. ha!

our view from the patio

our view from the patio

another view at the Ocean

another view at the Ocean

our refreshment!

our refreshment!

On our way home I snapped a picture of this friend basking in the sun. I wasn’t sure if it was real or not, but Michelle told me it was, I decided to just move along after the photo shoot. Ha!

our sun bather

our sun bather

After we got back they decided to do a little more clean up and I got a few stitches in on my Primitive Gatherings, My Crazy Life. You know, I just had to have something to do while on the plane and while I was idle! Ha! All in all, I did pretty good!

My Crazy Life progress while on the trip

My Crazy Life progress while on the trip

That evening we went back to the clubhouse and had a drink while we watched the guys put. The clubhouse patio is unbelievable even if the chainsaw was running in the background. It was entertaining to watch the work crew take down the tree, they sure seemed to know their stuff.

David and Ed putting

David and Ed putting

At the clubhouse they have this wonderful porch swing, so we all 4 got in and did a selfie. Notice the beautiful backdrop!

our swing picture

our swing picture

Then we were off to get dinner at WiseGuys. Oh my goodness, Michelle suggested that I get a wine flight, so I did! It was so much fun, you get this tree with 3 glasses of wine and they are all different and then select which one you wanted to drink. I decided to go with the middle one and I had the best seafood/fish entre of Halibut and Grouper. It was unbelievable. The grouper was served over a grit dish that was out of this world. I complimented the chef via the waitress and on our way out, there was the chef. We met him and I told him it was fabulous. I highly recommend going there if you are ever in the area.

my flight of wine

my flight of wine

We had a wonderful time there and we look forward to another visit! Thanks to Ed and Michelle for inviting and having us in their island home. Monday morning came and it was time to trek back to Jacksonville and catch the flight home.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golf to Hurricane Matthew

  1. Charlene says:

    Looks like so much fun. Loved the mini quilt show.

Leave a Reply

