Quilt Sleeves

I was asked for information regarding quilt sleeves. Some people don’t really like sleeves but if you want to hang a quilt, it really is in the best interest of the quilt to put a sleeve on it. If you hang your quilt without putting on a sleeve, after a period of time the weight of the fabric will begin to show it’s toll on the quilt, regardless of size. It will bow and begin to sag in the middle and therefore pulling on the corners where your quilt is attached to the wall.

I bought this quilt to hang in my sewing room and it didn’t have a sleeve, and I didn’t put one on it and it is doing the same thing. Notice the pulling away from the corners and the sag in the middle.

another no sleeve

example of no sleeve

On this quilt I decided not to put a sleeve on it and it has been on the wall for about two years and it is bowing in the middle as well and pulling on the corners.

here's a sample of no sleeve

here’s a sample of no sleeve

I strongly recommend putting a sleeve on your quilt; it really doesn’t take that much time and effort if you do it in the beginning when you are attaching your binding by machine. It takes twice as long if you wait and do it after you have finished all your binding!

Once I get my quilt back from the quilter, I always have the leftover fabric from the backing. So I use that – which is a great use of leftover fabric! A win, win!

Determine how long your need your sleeve. I normally take my scraps and see how much I need to trim off for the length; it does not need to be exact. If it is a small quilt the width needs to accommodate the rod that you are going to use. If this is a large quilt you should make it at least 3-inch (finished) wide.

figuring out the length

figuring out the length

ready to pin

trimmed and ready for the width

just an idea of the width

just an idea of the width

Prep your sleeve by squaring up your scrap fabric. I always prep the ends or edges by folding; pressing and then stitching down the fold. After the outside edges are prepped you can just fold in half and pin to the top of your quilt, that way your raw edge is inside your binding after you have sewn it down.

ironed and ready to stitch

ironed and ready to stitch

stitching it down

stitching it down

Once you have your sleeve and your label pinned, you can now attach your binding as you would normally.

pinned and ready for binding

pinned and ready for binding

Once you have your binding on, I then hand stitch the two sides down on my label and then hand stitch the bottom of the sleeve down. Now it’s binding time!

Hope this makes sense; there are other ways to do sleeves but this is what I’ve found that works for me.

Please Note: If you are going to enter your quilt in a quilt show you need to consult the show requirements, this is normally 4 inches wide sleeve with a quarter inch fold – this allows for the rod.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quilt Sleeves

  1. Lori says:

    Thanks Ronda.

    • ronda926 says:

      you are very welcome and thank you for asking! I hope it helped and that it made sense.

      • Lori says:

        It did. I have just begun putting sleeves. Previously hung with dowels and jute for little quilts and over quilt hangers for big ones. Wanted to know your method since you hang so much. Thanks

  2. Delores Ellis says:

    Thanks for this info. and all your suggestions to help us be better quilters!

  3. Ron Bible says:

    Next time Mom cuts the sleeves off one on my shirts, I’ll save them for you.

Leave a Reply

