Temps Dropping a Little

It is great to feel that the temps are dropping a little, but I’m ready for them to drop a little more!

I barely got unpacked and off I went again. Thursday and Friday I decided to go antique shopping in Warrenton. As I was leaving town I got stuck in traffic, therefore I didn’t get there when I thought I would, but I was glad to go shopping. It wasn’t hot but it sure GOT HOT.

I was shopping solo this time, Cathy is in Belize and Mary had to work. Thankfully, Brenda met up with me around 1 and we shopped until closing time, which was 6:00 p.m.

You might guess that I normally have a list and I did, but I did happen to find some treasures that weren’t on my list. I jokingly told Brenda that maybe I should put it on the list after the fact. We laughed.

I did manage to find a few more doily dresses. I think I might have enough to do my new clothesline idea in the craftroom. I will have to see. See my newest dresses!

my new dresses

my new dresses

At the beginning of my shopping I went to one of the little houses and I found one of the cutest things I have ever seen – a child’s treadle machine. It had it’s own base and is from the 1920’s and it had information of the name of the owner listed inside. I just had to take a picture of it.

child's treadle

child’s treadle

Even though the vendor came down on the price I just could not justify getting it, after all it was just for decoration. I had completely talked myself out of it until after I talked to a couple of the vendors. I showed her the picture and she gave me a great idea for it. I also had other people telling me that I should get it, so I caved and I got it. It is very cute!!!

it came home with me

it came home with me

I also got an old sled to go with the old ice skates I got in Florida along with a bell and some chair webbing. (I think that is what it’s called). Plus I got some more old scissors too and Brenda gave me a great frog and a pair of old scissors for my birthday! Wahoo!

vintage sled

vintage sled

my new/old scissors, webbing, frog, webbing, wooden grain scoop and a sewing machine oil can

my new/old scissors, webbing, frog, webbing, wooden grain scoop and a sewing machine oil can

One of the unusual things I got was a wall paper cutter. It was used to cut the original styled wallpaper like the type that was used in our old house back in 1920’s. It is 72 inches long and I hope to let it be a quilt hanger for my bow tie quilt, once it gets completely finished.

my wallpaper cutter, bell and watering can

my wallpaper cutter, bell and watering can

I love shopping the fields and getting ideas for different things or see how people repurpose things. One person had taken a “cutter” quilt and made santa bags. I thought they were cute.

this was a cute idea for old quilts

this was a cute idea for old quilts

I fell in love with this quilt, but it stayed. It can give me an idea if i want to make my own.

I fell in love with this quilt but I left it there

I fell in love with this quilt but I left it there

One more share – I bought something that I NEVER thought I would buy! I bought a deer horn wreath. I was looking in this booth that I always like and there it was! It looked very interesting, so after much thought – I bought it.

for some reason I loved this wreath decor

for some reason I loved this wreath decor

The house looks like a storm blew in. I have stuff scattered everywhere! For some reason, it has been hard to keep my concentration on any ONE thing – therefore I
have not really accomplished much at all.

Time to work on my Primitive Gatherings, Magic of Christmas block 7. Well I just thought I was going to do that. I had to go to the retreat house and other odd things, maybe tomorrow.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Temps Dropping a Little

  1. Hloria says:

    It looks like you hit the jackpot with all those great finds. My favorites are the little treadle and of course the little dresses.

Leave a Reply

