As the Spool Turns

I love play on words and if you know me, you know that I do love the sound of the sewing machine – well really I love the end results.

Last Tuesday, the 20th I flew to Florida for a quilt retreat at Camp Blanding. Right before I left I got the cutest birthday card in the mail with an adorable nametag in it. It was from Pam Murphree! See how cute it is! Thank you so much, Pam – I love it!

my cute name tag from Pam

my cute name tag from Pam

Wynette was gracious to pick me up at the airport and even opened up her home and let me stay with her. I know I can count on her to make me laugh, and that I did, in fact I laughed so much until I cried. Thank you, Wynette for being a wonderful hostess!

my view at Camp Blanding

my view at Camp Blanding

one of the pretty sunsets there

one of the pretty sunsets there

I loaded my carry-on luggage with my sewing machine and checked one piece of luggage. At check-in (yes, before I even got out of town) I was 7 pounds over. Well, I was there, so I had to pay for being overweight! Ugh! I got through security without any issues – thankfully! But I was going to have to “select” someone to hoist my carry-on up to the overhead bin. So I carefully picked a young man to assist me. I explained that it was HEAVY and he didn’t seem to mind until he picked it up and practically bent over. He exclaims “what do you have in here?! Encyclopedias!?” I was very apologetic and sat quietly in my seat.

I was not on a direct flight and once we arrived in Atlanta I had to change planes and he asked me if I needed for him to get it down. I said, “Yes, if he didn’t mind”. He did without any proclamations!

When I boarded the plane in Atlanta, I went through the same process but as I was asking someone, another man stepped up to help. He put my bag in the overhead bin and he didn’t say anything at all! He was wearing a “Dallas Cowboy” t-shirt. I told David about both legs and he said “How about them Cowboys”. I said, Oh, Brother and we laughed.

busting at the seams

busting at the seams

This retreat was a little more unusual than most. I ended up setting up 4 times so I wasn’t as effective as I normally am, but it was “all good”! I only took 2 projects because I knew that if I finished my bow ties, that I had enough to do on my Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends quilt to last me to the end of the retreat.

First I needed to do my Primitive Gatherings, “Magic of Christmas” block. I got it cut and sewn.

my MOC block

my MOC block

Then, I got to work on my bow ties. I had devised a method that if I took 3 blocks out of my 12 bags that would give me my 36 blocks for my “one” main block. I decided to pre-sort and put into bags, that way when I got ready to sew a block, I just needed to grab a bag – it was all there. Ha!

blocks ready in stacks of 36

blocks ready in stacks of 36

On the 22nd, Gloria gave 5 of us (Wynette, Marty, Anjie, Tami and myself) a basket weaving class. Wynette and I made a paisley basket and Anjie and Tami made a sewing basket and I think Marty made a satchel bag. It was fun, but it was more complex than I wanted to invest in. I got most of it done and Gloria ended up doing the finishing touches for me. It is very cute and I love, but I had to leave it behind and will need to bring it home next time. There was not enough room for me to bring it home, not to mention it was odd shaped.

Wynette the weaver!

Wynette the weaver!

my basket in progress

my basket in progress

another view in progress

another view in progress

this was the sewing basket in the makes

this was the sewing basket in the makes

their model

their model

Marty working

Marty working

Anjie working

Anjie working

Tami working

Tami working

my basket before it was finished.  it needs staining and the trim work

my basket before it was finished. it needs staining and the trim work

Heather made me a cute little lamb and chicken, they are so cute! I love them! She also makes other critters that are just adorable! She is so talented!

my lamb and chicken

my lamb and chicken

Heather's puppy mill

Heather’s puppy mill

more work in stages of animals

more work in stages of animals

finished puppies

finished puppies

Oh, the last time I was in Florida I ordered a crest for the retreat house. I worked with Rodney to get it just like I was thinking of and guess what – he had it finished and ready for delivery. He did such a great job; I can’t wait to have it hung over at the retreat house.

my new sign for the house

my new sign for the house

I always enjoy seeing what other projects people are working on. One of the girls worked on this cute pillow from a log cabin design. I don’t know who the pattern designer was, but it sure is cute!

pumpkin pillow

pumpkin pillow

Pat Meeks worked on this cute pumpkin quilt from the Fall 2015 magazine of Primitive quilts. It was adorable and would be cute done up in civil war fabrics or fun fabrics!

Pat's pumpkins

Pat’s pumpkins

Pat's cute topper

Pat’s cute topper

Pat also got my Red Crinoline Quilt, Red Heritage Stars quilted. I love it. I have another quilt that I need to put binding, sleeve and label on. Wahoo!

my Heritage star

my Heritage star

a closer view

a closer view

Wynette learned how to paper piece and worked on a feathered star. She decided to only do one block for now, but she did a great job!

Wynette's feathered star

Wynette’s feathered star

one block done

one block done

Slowly but surely I kept working on my bow tie quilt and finally finished it up on Tuesday, the 27th. I was one elated retreater. With all the moving around I wasn’t sure I’d finish, but I was determined to finish that puppy before going home!

half of my bow ties

half of my bow ties

all of my bow ties blocks done and ready to stitch

all of my bow ties blocks done and ready to stitch

my bow ties are all done

my bow ties are all done

I got to celebrate a birthday while I was in Florida. The girls treated me to pizza and strawberry ice cream on Monday. Thank you to everyone who sent cards and special wishes to me, it was very much appreciated. Once I got home I was greeted with a card, flowers and a cupcake. Thanks Babe for the special treatment!

my birthday treat

my birthday treat

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to As the Spool Turns

  1. Lori says:

    Love this post, love your work, love your stories. Happy Birthday!

  2. marysalmon says:

    Rhonda:

    I sure love your posts! Your bow tie quilt is awesome! And you learned how to make a basket! Happy Birthday!
    Love,
    Mary

  3. Pat BOUDREAUX says:

    Love your bowtie quilt! I have been collecting a basket of bowties for quite some time awaiting an assembly idea. I cut up bowties from the small scraps and use the blocks as leaders and enders at my machine. I think your quilt is just the right layout for my bowties. Thanks for sharing!

  4. globrister says:

    Wow, this was a very productive and talented group. I’m in awe of all the nice projects. The basket weaving looks like a lot of work but certainly is a rewarding project. And my favorite project of all are those adorable puppies!!! 💕💕 I love them, I want to make one or buy one. So darn cute!

Leave a Reply

