Knee Deep

I got a finish on my “Dipped in Chocolate” last week and I was very pleased how it turned out. I was a little worried how all the little sashing was going to line up, but it co-operated pretty well.

my "Dipped in Chocolate"

my “Dipped in Chocolate”

one of the corners of Dipped

one of the corners of Dipped

How was your long holiday weekend? Did you get out or did you stay inside and just kick back. I did a little of both. We had some friends, Ed & Michelle drive over on Sunday and we taught them how to play a domino game called 42. I even cooked and made some chocolate no-bake cookies. We had a great time.

cooking no-bake cookies

cooking no-bake cookies

yummy chocolate no-bake cookies

yummy chocolate no-bake cookies

I have been knee deep in my bow ties! If you have a large project that you want to conquer, try dividing up your project into “doable” segments. That is what I did with these little darlings. Slowly but surely I have gotten them complete! I am just thrilled; to say the least, that 1512 bow ties are DONE! Now the next step is to get them sewn into blocks. I am hoping that will go much faster than the bow tie construction process! I go back to Florida for a retreat on the 20th, so this will be one of my projects to work on.

bow ties

bow ties

more bow ties

more bow ties

and more

and more

last bag of bow ties

last bag of bow ties

2 more sets of ties

2 more sets of ties

my last 3 sets of bow ties

my last 3 sets of bow ties

the last ones are DONE

the last ones are DONE

As a little diversion, I have been working on my Farm Girl Vintage blocks too. They are so much fun to make and I am really enjoying seeing how they come out. I have a mental picture but nothing like the real thing. Our next session is October 7 and/or 8th. If you want to join us at the retreat house, let me know – you don’t necessarily have to work on Farm Girl, bring what you want to work on.

my progress on my Farm Girl blocks

my progress on my Farm Girl blocks

two more blocks for Farm Girl.

two more blocks for Farm Girl

Every time I think the dust settles some, something else comes along and I’m right in the middle of it – another project!

I am following Primitive Gatherings, Lisa Bongean’s The Magic of Christmas sew-along. You know that I’m a sucker for red and white and I could not pass this one up. I pulled from my stash. I didn’t read her original instructions very well and I thought the backgrounds were going to be scrappy. When I re-read it, I needed to re-make block one and also made the following next two blocks. The blocks will finish at 6-inches, they are fun, if you are late joining; it doesn’t take that long to catch up. Join in the fun with a friend or 2. Lecia and Ivy are playing with me and it has been fun to share our progress!

my 3 blocks for the Magic of Christmas

my 3 blocks for the Magic of Christmas

Now it is time to work on my Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends – progress is progress!

Among Friends

Among Friends

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Knee Deep

  1. Kay says:

    Hey Ronda! I’m doing the Magic of Christmas too – yours look great – Block 3 was a nightmare for me!

  2. Sheila O'Shay says:

    Hi Ronda,
    I can’t believe all those precious bow ties… My goodness ! Well I am also working on the primitive gatherings Christmas sew along, but I’ve not started yet😃,and I have to get #3 pattern printed… Your blocks are soo pretty.. This weekend I’ll get caught up for sure…
    Happy quilting and I can hardly wait to see your bow tie quilt all together!
    Sheila

    • ronda926 says:

      hi Sheila, I just love the bow ties and I’m excited about putting them together, but they will need to be put aside for a little bit. The Christmas blocks are fun, I need to cut and sew #4. Thank you for reading and happy stitching to you too! rs

  3. Tara says:

    I would love to join y’all at the retreat house on October 7 if there’s room! As much as I love Farm Girl, I can’t start another project…..but would love to come and work on some of my current ones along with you “farm girls”!!!!

Leave a Reply

