Cooking and Sewing

Today was a grocery shopping day and a cooking day. I prepped for our family reunion that is this weekend in Corsicana. We are staying at my cousin Tanya’s house. It looks like we are going to have a full house and I mean FULL!

This will be a first time event for the Bible Family, my Dad, Mom and my 3 siblings along with almost all of our kiddos. We are all pretty excited about it. This is something my mom planned and it has been frustrating at times, but we pray that we all get along and enjoy one another’s company and embrace all of our differences. 😉

I was asked to make my German Chocolate cake and it wouldn’t be a party without Knorr’s Spinach Dip. Penny planned out the menu and slowly items were divided up and Friday is “go time”!

This week I have enjoyed taking pictures of food that I’m making and I know my kids enjoy and send them pictures to see if they can tell what I’m making. Today was Katie’s turn.

can you tell what I'm making?

can you tell what I’m making?

As I was making the German Chocolate cake I sent her a picture and said, ”guess what I’m making”? Her guess was a Sheath Cake, but I said no – better! Then I took two more pictures of hints and sent them to her.

hint #2?

hint #2?

hint #3?

hint #3?

She did guess correctly! It is her favorite cake!

German Chocolate Cake, all from scratch

German Chocolate Cake, all from scratch

I did get to work on my Primitive Gatherings, The Magic of Christmas, block #4 this evening. I wasn’t sure that I would get it finished or not. It was a little tricky. The little flying geese needed to be trimmed down to 1 ¼ x 2 inches. That trimming down was essential to make the pieces all fit together nicely.

block #4, I had to make sure they were all going in the right direction

block #4, I had to make sure they were all going in the right direction

trim down those little geese

trim down those little geese

I love the block!

block 4 done

block 4 done

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking and Sewing

  1. Bobbie says:

    Where DO you get your energy?!

Leave a Reply

