Going for Gold

Are you getting to watch any of the Olympics? I have missed the past few days, but what I have seen is really unbelievable. The training that they have to go through and the diet alone would absolutely do me in, especially the diet! Ha!

I did bring to mind what if there were ”sewing” Olympiad, what events would we do? At Houston Quilt Festival they have a team competition called the “Iron Quilter” and the winner receives a “Golden Iron”. We could earn a “Golden Foot Pedal”. I think it would be a fun anyway!

What did you get to work on over the weekend? I had the opportunity to teach beginning quilting to three people at the retreat house. One of ladies had outside commitments and really didn’t get to take advantage of the entire class but we all still did have a great time and they learned a lot.

these are Mary's blocks

these are Mary’s blocks

these are Michele's blocks

these are Michele’s blocks

I had a little time to sew on a few of my projects here and there. Before the retreat I cut out my Red Crinoline Quilts, Heritage Stars quilt and even made one block, so I would have my bearings later.

ready to put together my Ohio stars

ready to put together my Ohio stars

Thursday night I got to work on 4 sets of my little bow ties and then on Friday I got to work on my Ohio stars, there are 25 in the quilt. I happen to finish the stars up late Friday night and then sew up the half squares on Saturday, and assemble the quilt. I do love a finish and it turned out very nicely. I can’t wait to get it quilted and hung over at the retreat house!

here we go

here we go

all of my Ohio Stars are done

all of my Ohio Stars are done

my Heritage stars are done

my Heritage stars are done

Saturday evening and some of Sunday I was back working on my precious little bow ties. Three more sets (18 in a set) done. Lecia, I finished making your bag of ties! Wahoo! Out of 1512 bow ties, I have only 540 more to make, two and one half bags left.

4 sets of bow ties done

4 sets of bow ties done

3 more sets done

3 more sets done

This afternoon, I received a package with three little quilts in them. They are ones that Pat Meeks quilted for me using the little stippling. They look so cute.

The two log cabins are ones that I did in 2010 and just didn’t have them quilted. The small one is from a Jo’s group and the larger one is from Pam Buda’s Prairie Women Sewing Circle. Now to get the binding on!

this is my Jo's log cabin from 2010

this is my Jo’s log cabin from 2010

this is another log cabin I did from Pam Buda's pattern in 2010

this is another log cabin I did from Pam Buda’s pattern in 2010

Last but not least is this little one, it is a Kim Diehl pattern done in Red Crinoline fabrics by Marcus Fabrics. It turned out very cute too. Thank you, Pat I can’t wait to get all the binding on and really have them done!

and here is my little Kim Diehl project

and here is my little Kim Diehl project

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going for Gold

  1. Lori Fresina says:

    My class quilt is quilted. Will be getting from quilter tomorrow. Almost finished hand quilting the 8 block one I made in class too. Pics soon. Went to an area retreat house this past weekend and started a string quilt. Lots of fun. Still hoping to stay with u the last weekend in January. Will know more soon. 😀

    • ronda926 says:

      Sounds like a lot of fun, maybe one of these days you will return. I’m not sure what days you wanted but January is filling up you may want to decide soon, and I look forward to seeing your quilt all finished! exciting times ahead! don’t forget to post pictures!

  2. Joyce Bible says:

    You have been very busy.😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

