Today’s the Day!

I had a goal set on Monday to get the last border prepped and to join the top border to the side borders. I worked on that Monday morning and just before the Lakeview guild meeting I had the bottom ready to stitch. Off I went to the meeting and I got busy as I was sitting and listening.

the top is all done

the top is all done

here's one of the top corners

here’s one of the top corners

It was really a relief to be stitching on the last section. Tuesday I had two meeting sessions and I worked away on my border, in fact I finally decided that “finishing” was going to be my focus, to get it all stitched. Sew I Did, the bottom border that is!

Tuesday, I went to bed plotting my Wednesday, what was I going to do first! When it came morning – I got off task. I had planned to work on borders, but my ironing board and my floor was another obstacle course so I had to clear the board and the floor.

Before getting down to the nitty gritty I had to do some side steps. My ironing board had My Crazy Life blocks ready; I decided to stitch them first.

start out with strips to make crazy blocks

start out with strips to make crazy blocks

this is what you sew for the crazy blocks

this is what you sew for the crazy blocks

use the ruler to trim up your blocks

use the ruler to trim up your blocks

this is a block ready for wool

this is a block ready for wool

all 4 of week five is ready to be fused, cut and ironed on

all 4 of week five is ready to be fused, cut and ironed on

my new storage for My Crazy Life blocks

my new storage for My Crazy Life blocks

I needed to finish up deciding on the rest of my cornerstones for my Farm Girl Vintage. After my ironing board was clear, I could iron my background for my Farm Girl. I ended up cutting my 19 sashing strips and then sub-cut them into my 110 sashing pieces.

my Farm Girl Vintage first 2 rows

my Farm Girl Vintage first 2 rows

Oh, one side note – I decided to starch my fabric before cutting. It really helped! Stray and then set aside to dry before ironing. This is highly recommended by Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings and I have to say in the past I have only been a “here and there” starcher. She just may be on to something! Ha! 😉

Now, it is time to finish up “Her Majesty”! First, I needed to finish up the bottom border – I needed to embroidery the stems, do the French knots and the bud tips.

bottom border is ready to be added to the quilt

bottom border is ready to be added to the quilt

Next on the list was to do the top two corners, I got them done and then it was time to attach the bottom to the quilt. I got that done, but now it is time to do the add-ons – the fill in pieces.

here she is ready to be finished

here she is ready to be finished

bottom right hand corner ready to stitch

bottom right hand corner ready to stitch

Last night before I went to bed, I got all the vines placed and the pieces all ready to be steamed, but it was late and I figured that it would be best if I waited until today to finish.

Today is the day that I got my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere In Time quilt finished! I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am to be finished. Now what am I going to do in the car or where I go??? Ha! I almost feel like she has been my security blanket and I might have to change her name to “Everywhere I Go”. She has been to Mazatlan, Boston, Arkansas, Florida, Bahamas, St John, and St Thomas – that’s all I can think of right now.

a full view of it finished

a full view of it finished

closer view of the bottom right corner

closer view of the bottom right corner

I love all these blocks

I love all these blocks

a closer view of the bottom left corner

a closer view of the bottom left corner

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Today’s the Day!

  1. Connie Schofield says:

    It’s beautiful Ronda!

  2. lisabongean says:

    I know the feeling of finishing…there is nothing like it…this quilt is a labor of love with its many stitches… And then we add more stitches on top of the ones already stitched!!!! But those crazy stitches are so enjoyable the were almost needed to break up the monotony of the blanket stitch which I love to do…thanks for sharing your journey…and congratulations on your finish!

    • ronda926 says:

      thank you so much! most of all, thank you for being a great teacher and a great designer, a great inspiration to so many! i did enjoy my journey!

  3. Starla Peacock says:

    It is truly gorgeous Ronda. I’m saving this one for my retirement!

  4. Barbara F. says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on your beautiful work of art!! Such an accomplishment. I’ve enjoyed reading about your journey.

  5. Loucat says:

    That a so marvelous work…

Leave a Reply

