Family Block Challenge

Things are just bouncing all over, sometimes I think I have a handle on things, and then I realize that it is really the other way around. Ha!

Back on June 23rd my friend Marcia Henry asked myself and another fellow quilter, Lee Ann Lively to help her out and judge a family block challenge. I was really nervous about being asked to judge a family challenge, as was Lee Ann. Marcia just kept telling us that it was a fun event and not to worry.

We had no idea what to expect or really what we were walking into!

This family has been gathering for the last 25 years, each year they vary in numbers, and they manage to have a different challenge each year. They were to use one common fabric and they were to construct a block that made them think of a memory of one of their gatherings.

here are all the blocks

here are all the blocks

this one was cute

this one was cute

this block depicts "a winner"

this block depicts “a winner”

this one was creative and colorful

this one was creative and colorful

for the 25 years of gathering

for the 25 years of gathering

they come from all over

they come from all over

I really liked this block

I really liked this block

they said that they always seem to have someone who delivers a sermon

they said that they always seem to have someone who delivers a sermon

one of the ladies ran over her luggage one year

one of the ladies ran over her luggage one year

one of them made a panty quilt

one of them made a panty quilt

look at this cute quilt hanging block

look at this cute quilt hanging block

They had 5 ribbons: Most Creative, Best Workmanship, Judge’s choice, Most Whimsical and Best Use of Color.

Most Creative

Most Creative

this won Judge's Choice

this won Judge’s Choice

Most Creative

Most Creative

Most Whimsical

Most Whimsical

Best Use of Color

Best Use of Color

They did a great job and it was a lot of fun, we did enjoy ourselves and enjoyed meeting new quilters!

I did eye a couple of quilts that I sure liked! One was on the dining table.

this was a finished quilt on the table.  I liked the bright colors and the background fabrics

this was a finished quilt on the table. I liked the bright colors and the background fabrics

I could not keep my eye off of one of them. I really enjoyed seeing how they matched up the fabrics and used fabrics that I would have not used, but they really played well with one another. I had to go home and research what block it was – a variation of the Drunkard’s Path block. I may have to play with this one!

this is the quilt I marveled at

this is the quilt I marveled at


I really need to stop seeing quilts I want to make, I have a LONG list and it is getting longer and longer!

I will catch up on the other events in my life in the next post.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

