Getting Into A Rhythm

Last night I finally finished sewing down all my little flowers on sashing number two on my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere In Time. Yippee!! Now for the leaves!

This morning I decided to make one block of my Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends. I thought that I should at least get it all figured out so I could make the most progress in the time that I have. For some reason, I got my blocks turned around and I had to redo it, but I did get one made. It is so cute!

getting organized

getting organized

one ready

one ready

one of 44

one of 44

After that I decided that I should at least make all the half squares and trim the papers down to how I was going to use them. This is the first time that I’ve used the Primitive Gatherings half-square papers in a big project. They work really well if you need to only make a few or a bunch! Most half-square papers work well with high quantities, but these work well either way!

Primitive Gatherings triangle paper

Primitive Gatherings triangle paper

this is how it comes

this is how it comes

First off, I trimmed up the papers so that I only had the papers that I needed.

all trimmed up

all trimmed up

Since I’m working in sets of 4 and these papers are rows of 5, I trimmed off the top row. This is a lot faster than going up the 4 columns!

trimming off the top row

trimming off the top row

Look at what you get – 2 more sets of 4! Set it aside.

top row is off

top row is off

Trim into half again, across the papers. Now you can stack on top of one another and trim in between all the sets, it goes a lot faster.

next set of 4's

next set of 4’s

ready to stack and slice

ready to stack and slice

I lined up the dashed lines

I lined up the dashed lines

trim 2 at a time

trim 2 at a time

my sets

my sets

Now you grab the top row and trim into singles. Since they are going the wrong way (they are side to side), I trimmed and then just stacked on top of one another when making my half squares. It really doesn’t mess anything up, you have to trim them anyway and there is NO waste – you can use them all!

see how the singles work

see how the singles work

I started working on the entire bundle of half-squares and as I was going I decided that it would be a better use of time if I trimmed the “color” sections down to 4-inches. It still gives you ample fabric on the side to be trimmed down.

now that you have the bottom on, you can add the background and you are keeping it all together

now that you have the bottom on, you can add the background and you are keeping it all together

The big perk for that is that you can now stack your background (my black) fabric on top and work on the other half-squares. The best part is – all of it is kept together until you get ready to sew it all for your block. I love to sew smart! Ha!

two sets done

two sets done


I just thought I would share this tip, I didn’t figure it out until after I got going, but it is a worthy tip.

If I had been extra smart, I would have trimmed the color down to 4 inches to begin with and with the remaining fabric I would have gotten my 1 ½ inch center from that, instead of cutting it twice. I trimmed that off first on the first go around. One thing, I will sure do it this way on the subsequent sets I get in the mail!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Into A Rhythm

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Way to go. Just hang in there.

Leave a Reply

