Project Storage

I was asked about my project storage, so I thought I’d share in a blog post. I’m not really a big fan of “containers”. They take up a lot of space, and I don’t have enough as it is, but they are very efficient and get the job done. It really depends on you and what works best for you.

For some reason when my projects go into a container, they seem to get put on the back burner, another reason why I’m not a fan. My scrapbooking history, I had a lot of containers and really they worked very well and protected those paper corners until they went in a book, so I have several tucked away.

If I’m working on a project, then it really doesn’t need one, unless I need to be mobile. In that case, it just depends on what I have handy and what works best. (Does it need to be squished into luggage?)

There are times when I’m working on swaps and I don’t have everything all at once or SBOW’s. Ha! This is a good time for container usage.

This container is from a swap that dates back to 2013, my “Dipped In Chocolate”. It has a really cute container, but it is odd shaped and doesn’t store very well in my opinion. I do have a work date for this project – August, I’ll be working on it in a retreat!

another storage idea

another storage idea

my Dipped In Chocolate

my Dipped In Chocolate

For my little bow ties, they are in a nice Longerber basket and a container. The ones made are in the basket and they are bagged according to color. The ones that have not been trimmed yet are not bagged and the ones that need to sewn are in the container.

bow tie storage

bow tie storage

For my Somewhere In Time quilt, as I finished my blocks I put them in this scrapbooking container, it was at my fingertips and it worked well with my blocks. I put my instructions and blocks in there once it was finished, that way the blocks didn’t get messed up and it is a little thinner than the big Artbin container.

storage for my Somewhere In Time

storage for my Somewhere In Time

see it closes well and is thin

see it closes well and is thin

Now they are sewn, sometimes I use the floor and then hangers work well too, it keeps them tidy and they don’t get wrinkled as much.

floor storage

floor storage

hangers work well

hangers work well

For my September wedding ring quilt, I have my supplies all ready and they are in an Artbin container (leftover from scrapping).

Artbin storage

Artbin storage

My favorite squishy container is made by Lyle Enterprises, it has a clear side panels and it has a handle. I have several of these. I have my Red and White 12×12 blocks from the Painted Pony; I still need to finish that.

Lyle bag

Lyle bag

my 12 red and white blocks, all is in the bag

my 12 red and white blocks, all is in the bag

I do try to stay organized and I would recommend that to you, because nothing is worse to me, than scrounging around on a search and rescue for my pieces/blocks/instructions. Therefore I keep it all together.

I guess I had better find something for my next 4 SBOW projects. Ha!

All that said, no really clear-cut answer. Sorry about that, go with what works for you!

Today at the retreat house I did get to work on my borders a little. First I had to cut out 60 circles for my flower centers. I got those all cut and ready to go.

Somewhere in Time flower centers

Somewhere in Time flower centers

I decided it was time to cut my background for my Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends quilt. I cut my strips and then sub-cut them according to the directions. I need some Baggies since I cut for 12 weeks. One less thing to cut later…right!

background cut for Among Friends

background cut for Among Friends

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project Storage

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Real Nice.

Leave a Reply

