Not Too Hot To Sew

Have you been staying cool inside and out of the heat? It has really been hot here! I’m not sure if it is because of the all the rain, regardless it is good to stay inside and sew! That is exactly what I’ve been doing!

Monday I went over to the classroom at the retreat house and spread out. Out of 16 tables, I think you could see the top of half of them. I sprayed starch on my black fabric for my Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends. It is ready for me to iron and cut, but that will just have to wait until another day, maybe tomorrow! I have the color fabric all starched and ironed. I think the first week is the hardest; you have to figure everything out and prep all your fabric.

starched background

starched background

I stitched on my Somewhere In Time quilt, I’m still on the second inner border, but I’m getting there.

I also got out my fabric for “My Crazy Life” and it is starched and ready. Later, I decided to pull out Alice (my featherweight) and she got to sew up the blocks. I got them all ready for thread – all 4 blocks. They are cute and thankfully, a lot easier than the projects from the last 3 years! Wahoo!

Alice got to play too!

Alice got to play too!

all ready to trim up

all ready to trim up

my four blocks, note the bottom right is a tree without any leaves - they get stem stitching

my four blocks, note the bottom right is a tree without any leaves – they get stem stitching

Today was our monthly Jo’s group meeting at the Painted Pony, Karen R always does such a great job leading the group, she has a history lesson, recipe, sewing tips and at least 2-3 different patterns for us along with instructions and/or demos. I really enjoy this meeting, thank you Karen for all your hard work. Today’s class was on the Lemoyne star, she tried to show us hand sewing, I know I will be doing mine by machine if and when I get to it. Ha!

One of the girls brought in a show and share of a scrappy quilt that she received. I sure like it. It is made of 1 inch and 2 inch finished half-squares. It has a lot of color!

love this cute scrappy mini quilt

love this cute scrappy mini quilt

Melody even brought her almost complete top that she started in my beginning quilt class; she’s done a great job. She only has to add the outer border! Great job, Melody!

Melody's top

Melody’s top

The Jo’s group also took part in a red and white 9-patch swap. Karen showed us this idea of how to work them up.

Karen's idea for finishing 9-patches

Karen’s idea for finishing 9-patches

After the meeting, I went back to the retreat classroom and started cutting out my 70 flowers for the outer borders, 35 flower buds and 120 leaves. I still need to do my 60 golden flower centers; I did get my 10 red ones cut.

all flowers, buds ready to roll

all flowers, buds ready to roll

leaves ready to roll

leaves ready to roll

sashing is almost ready, I need to add the vine

sashing is almost ready, I need to add the vine

That’s a lot of cutting!

Ii am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Too Hot To Sew

  1. Ronda, you have some many projects going on at one time. I’m curious how you pack and store them so that each projects stays together and is ready to be picked up and go. I’d love to see pictures of how you keep each project contained.

  2. Sheila O'Shay says:

    Wow, you sure did a lot of cutting!i would love the pattern for that mini scrap quilt, it is precious….love your blog posts…..
    Sheila

    • ronda926 says:

      I don’t have the pattern for the little scrap quilt except that it’s 1 inch and 2 inch finished half squares, I hope to figure it out, just not yet. thanks for reading and writing!

Leave a Reply

