Strategic Stitching

I want to wish all the Fathers/Fathers at heart out there a Happy Father’s Day. I have 3 wonderful sons that are great fathers and I’m blessed to still have my Daddy around. I don’t always see eye to eye with my Dad, but he is always there when I need him and he has taught me a lot. David is a wonderful dad at heart, he is supportive of my kids and would/does do anything for them. It has been a great day, a little more emotional than I thought it would be. It is hard to see all the pictures on Facebook of Daddy’s that meant so much to me growing up, that aren’t around any more. I am very thankful/blessed to have so many wonderful men in my life.

back in 1973, this was our family.  yes, I have on "bell bottoms".

back in 1973, this was our family. yes, I have on “bell bottoms”.

Since I had to drive myself to Tyler, on Thursday, I didn’t get to take advantage of my 6+ hours to stitch in the car. Oh well, I did get some stitches in at the first hospital and some at the second. I decided that my strategy was to stitch the tiny centers first and then work on the flowers, then the leaves. These long sashing pieces sure are time intensive! I stitch and stitch and it doesn’t seem like I’m making any progress. Progress is progress, right!

When I got home Friday, a big box from Primitive Gatherings greeted me! Whoop, Whoop! It is with mixed feelings though, I now need to work on my 2015 SBOW, Somewhere in Time as well as my 3 (4 counting the freebie) 2016 summer blocks of the week! I’m trying not to feel too over-whelmed!

my project from Primitive Gatherings

my project from Primitive Gatherings

When you are working on finishing up a project, do you give yourself small goals? I do, it helps me stay on track and that way I can get to the finish line! Friday I needed to machine sew my rows together and get one sashing piece completed!

Four rows are now machine stitched!

rows are now sewed

rows are now sewed

I was having trouble handling the long sashing pieces, so I grabbed a couple of the Clover Wonder Clips and rolled them up, it sure does make it a little easier to handle.

a visual of my "roll"

a visual of my “roll”

Saturday I planned to get one sashing completely finished, but that didn’t quite get done. I did get all the leaves done before going to bed. The only thing left was the stem stitching and the flower, French knot centers. Not to far from finishing one.

Sunday, I finally finished one and off to the next one!

one sashing done

one sashing done

I am making headway, so I’m just going to be happy with that.

I did decide to deviate from the plan a little and starch all my fabrics for Primitive Gatherings, Among Friends and My Crazy Life kits. They are all ironed now!

fabrics in My Crazy Life

fabrics in My Crazy Life

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

