In The Details

Are you a details person? Do you notice little changes? I sure do, sometimes I wished I didn’t but then there are times that it’s a good thing. I love the details on the new antique sideboard I got. I didn’t think my photos gave it justice so I decided to re-take some photos that you could enjoy. Notice the hardware, how it is triangular in design and so unique.

sideboard

sideboard

hardware

hardware

I have never seen any feet like this on any antique before and in great shape, all 4 in-shape, I sure think it adds so much to the piece. Have you seen anything like it?

the feet

the feet

Sunday, my oldest grandson, Jaiden had a baseball game in LaPorte so David and I went to his game. We enjoyed watching him play and after the game we all went to Gringo’s to have a celebratory birthday lunch for Dylan. Dylan sure enjoyed the song and dance at the end!

Jaiden, enjoying the game

Jaiden, enjoying the game

Dylan enjoying the singing

Dylan enjoying the singing

Monday morning was the Deer Park Day meeting at Ms. Bonnie’s house; she had us over for a log cabin class taught by Cheryl. Students were Marcia, Linda, Anita and myself and two drop-ins were Kay and Pam. I had taken an Ultimate Borders class taught by Winnie Fleming back in 2010, so it was a nice that Cheryl offered us this lesson. I have always loved the log cabin block, for this project we cut the length of the strips one inch. After seeing Cheryl’s and Bonnie’s fabric I wished I had pulled 30’s fabric instead of using reproduction fabrics, oh well, I guess I could do another one! ☺ Another thing I would have done differently would be to pick out my border fabric first and then picked out my fabrics accordingly, I just randomly picked fabrics and didn’t even think about the finish.

my little log cabin blocks to be

my little log cabin blocks to be

my centers

my centers

We all got our fabrics cut and started working, I think this was my first time to have an “active” meeting with them and I sure enjoyed it. It is a great chain-piecing project; we needed to make 16 blocks to create a star pattern. I got my 16 started and then I decided to make 2 so I could see what they were going to look like. Then it was time to pack up and go home.

my 2 blocks I made on Monday

my 2 blocks I made on Monday

Since my Apple watch died on Sunday I had to venture off to the store at the mall and see if they could revive it. Talk about feeling “disconnected”, I sure felt that way. I don’t like the fact that I’ve gotten so attached to my devices, but that’s the way it is for me! Thank goodness, they just needed to reset it and I was on my way after my 3 hour wait for a technician.

I got to stitch on my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere In Time little sashing while I waited and Monday night I finished my 16th block and I got one little sashing all stitched, one more to do!

block #16 in progress

block #16 in progress

#16 done

#16 done

After going through all the blocks I realized that I needed to embellish the very first block, it looked like it needed something, so I’m adding the fly-stitch and some French knots. I love how the extra embroidery stitches add so much to the blocks; it’s all about the details. 😉

block #1 marked for thread

block #1 marked for thread

block #1 updated

block #1 updated

Tuesday, someone said “Squirrel”! I got distracted and wanted to finish sewing my log cabin blocks from Monday’s class, after all, I only had 14 more to do! I did but with everyone posting about the new Primitive Gathering SBOW pings, it seemed like it took me all day. After I finished making my blocks I laid them out to see how they would look and then I went back to work on my Block #1 and added my extra stitching. Another step closer to finishing. Happy dance!

a layout option

a layout option

another layout option

another layout option

I almost feel like “follow the bouncing ball” since I’m jumping from project to project. My “reward” for finishing the Primitive Gathering blocks was to finish my log cabin mini quilt. I started doing the rows and then adding them to each other, then what to do for the finish!? I decided to use one of my all time favorite Red Crinoline fabrics for the outer border and a gold inner border sealed the deal. It is now complete! Yeah!

my log cabin quilt done

my log cabin quilt done

Now back to working on my little inner sashing – working on the little leaves. I got all the stitching done except for the stem stitching the flowers to the vines. Two sashes complete and 10 more to do.

my little sashing ready for stems

my little sashing ready for stems

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In The Details

  1. Nancy Pleimann says:

    On the log cabin blocks can you tell me what method you did? Are the pattern name. It is different that I have seen before. They look great. Nancy P.

  2. Julie Moser says:

    Love the sideboard. And of course the log cabin blocks.

Leave a Reply

