New Obsession

I had hoped to post long before now but life has been pretty hectic, but all good.

First on the agenda was to hang a few quilts – so we did! I hope you like the updates!

quilt update in the dining room

quilt update in the dining room

in the den

in the den

upstairs in the hall

upstairs in the hall

in the hall

in the hall

my Texas room needed some cotton

my Texas room needed some cotton

We celebrated Katie turning 26 and we got to watch the kids over the Memorial Day weekend. We had a great time, watching those 2 sure is fun, they get along so well and they can sure create a mess and give me a run for my money. David even watched them while I went on my hour bike ride.

Wyatt and Kynlee playing

Wyatt and Kynlee playing

I made a little more progress on my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time! I got blocks 13, 14 and 15 completed and I’m not working on 16! I can’t tell you how good it feels to be this close to the end.

block 13

block 13

block 13

block 14

block #15

block #15

I do believe that I’m going to need a twelve-step program once I’m finished with my little bow ties! At the beginning, I was doing two sets a day, when I could. Then I went up to three sets a day! Too bad sewing isn’t considered a workout program; I’d be a lot thinner. Ha! I don’t get to make them every day, but I sure try to.

bow ties

bow ties

more bow ties

more bow ties

see how they grow!

see how they grow!

a lot more bow ties

a lot more bow ties

Over the weekend or Thursday through Sunday I had a beginning quilting retreat with 6 students and 3 retreaters.

Julie enjoying her time

Julie enjoying her time

students at work

students at work

Mary coming along

Mary coming along

We had tons of rain but we decided to go to Monument Inn for dinner on Friday night and on the way home we got to see a rainbow over the San Jacinto Monument.

our rainbow

our rainbow

We had a very successful retreat, we had one student who had to leave early and could not finish, but the other 5 did complete their tops. Best of all we had 5 elated students!

this was Kristi's

this was Kristi’s

Monica's quilt

Monica’s quilt

Kim's quilt

Kim’s quilt

Mary's finish

Mary’s finish

I got to work on my little bow ties and on my last block during teaching breaks. I got a lot of the bow ties done; they seem like little bunnies, I think they multiply even though they aren’t.

After quilting class was over we drove over to Humble for Dylan’s 10th birthday party. As we got into their little section I was surprised to see Candice and Hailey! They had driven down for a brief visit. We got to watch the kids play and before they all left I did get a group photo, but it wasn’t all that good. It is hard to try and get 6 little ones to look at the camera at the same time.

Dylan, the birthday boy

Dylan, the birthday boy

Hailey

Hailey

Dylan, Hailey, Hunter, Kynlee, Jaiden and Wyatt

Dylan, Hailey, Hunter, Kynlee, Jaiden and Wyatt

Due to all the rain David got to work on his wooden quilt, he is progressing rather well and is quite organized in all his little processes.

his one inch squares

his one inch squares

the red parts

the red parts

his white blocks parts

his white blocks parts

he uses the nails to hold so he can paint them

he uses the nails to hold so he can paint them

Sunday night, I met Delores over at the retreat house and she and I went to IAH to pick up Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings. Lisa was our guest speaker at the Baytown Quilt guild on Monday night as well as our instructor in our class on Tuesday.

Lisa is an extremely talented lady/quilter/designer/teacher. I really enjoyed her lecture and class. If you ever have the chance to listen to her and her story, it is well worth the trip.

I got to spend a lot of one on one time with Lisa and totally enjoyed it all. We went to lunch on Monday to Outriggers and watched the boats come in and out of the marina; I knew she would enjoy the water, we finally had some great weather. On the way back to the house we stopped by an antique store and I got to see some of the 3 largest Stag horn ferns that I have ever seen in my life. They were so big that I had to take a few pictures so I could share!

one of the ferns

one of the ferns

the second fern

the second fern

Tuesday we had our class and it was a huge success! There aren’t too many “wool workers” in Texas, but now there are a few more! We all loved the class and we learned a lot and our class time went by way too quickly.

Lisa teaching

Lisa teaching

Lisa showing us how to put on the edge

Lisa showing us how to put on the edge

After the class, 7 of us that went out to dinner at El Toro in Baytown and then I took her back to the retreat house and we stitched and I even got to go back over there Tuesday morning and stitch some more.

RoseAnn Cook of Quilter’s Emporium picked her up around noon. After Lisa left, I worked on my 3 long inner sashing sections and it is coming along too. Lots of flowers, leaves, buds and centers are ready, I just need to get the cross stitching on the vines before I put on the extras.

my sashing

my sashing

my buds

my buds

my flower centers

my flower centers

Grandbaby #8 will be here soon so I hope to have them ready to stitch!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Obsession

  1. Patricia Edens - Lake Charles, LA says:

    You have been busy! I so appreciate you taking the time to post. I love your work!

Leave a Reply

