Lake or Ocean

Which one do you like the best? I think I like the lake the best, it is just something about it and it doesn’t make the sound like the ocean does. Living in a coastal region is one of the things that I enjoy the most, the sound of the water – it is so soothing.

Friday, I picked up mom and we drove to meet up with our family, we had been invited by one of our cousins, Tanya to come for the weekend and just relax and visit. There were 8 of us all together, my Mom, sisters – Pattie and Penny, cousins – Tasha, Tanya, Suzanne and Margie.

Tanya’s waterfront property is on the Richland-Chambers Reservoir, which happens to be the 3rd largest in Texas. They have a boat, a jet ski and two different piers and docks to fish from.

their backyard

their backyard

Friday night Suzanne, Tanya and Pattie wanted to fish, so they did and Margie got to be the unofficial baiter and un-hooker. We had a lot of fun, those little guys flop when they are out of water. Ha! That night Suzanne caught 2, Tanya caught 3 and Pattie caught 2.

Tanya and Margie fishing

Tanya and Margie fishing

Suzanne and Pattie fishing

Suzanne and Pattie fishing

Saturday we did more of the same, eating, talking and about 2 or so we drove into town to eat Mexican food at the Old Mexican Inn in Corsicana. It was good – we all just love Mexican food and then drove back to Tanya’s.

out to eat

out to eat

My favorite spot was their back porch, it was wide and very accommodating and so was the weather! That ended up being our main hangout and I got to stitch and stitch! I took my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere In Time blocks, I only got one block finished – block #12 and started on #13. If I wasn’t eating or sleeping, I was stitching! It was great, but I didn’t get as much done as I’d hoped, but I can say I did as much as I could have. 😉

on the back porch

on the back porch

see this is why we loved it

see this is why we loved it

Pattie, Suzanne and me

Pattie, Suzanne and me

block #11, I needed to add the center french knots

block #11, I needed to add the center french knots

block #11 done

block #11 done

block #12 done

block #12 done

I did get out and run my 4 miles Saturday and Sunday, I enjoyed my little 2 mile out and back routes over the bridge, it was cool and breezy!

this was my running route for 2 days and I had hills

this was my running route for 2 days and I had hills

the bridge that I ran

the bridge that I ran

Sunday after breakfast Pattie wanted to go on a boat ride. The skies were clouding up and it looked like rain, so we took our group photo and loaded up in the boat. Myself, Suzanne and mom were not going to go, but we ALL ended up loading up and took off. Mom and Tasha protected their hair, they had plans and it didn’t involve redoing hair. We all had life jackets and took off. It was funny just getting us loaded up, we were told that Tanya wouldn’t be driving fast and she really did good but once we hit RAIN, you’ve never seen the likes of people hitting the deck! That was a sign to turn around and go back to the house, so we did.

Mom was excited and we hadn't even left the dock

Mom was excited and we hadn’t even left the dock

rain - hit the deck

rain – hit the deck

Penny and Tanya in the background saying cheese

Penny and Tanya in the background saying cheese

Tasha protecting her hair

Tasha protecting her hair

our group

our group

We left there around 2 and headed home, after I got home and unloaded I decided that I still wanted to sit outside and be by the water. This time we drove to Outriggers in Kemah and sat outside and enjoyed the wonderful view. I love it there!

Sunday at Outriggers

Sunday at Outriggers

another view at Outriggers in the bay

another view at Outriggers in the bay

How was your Monday? Did you get to sew any? Well, that is one thing I was happy to do! I got to work on my bow ties! I finished the red set that I had started before going out of town and then I decided to do 3 more sets. I got red, brown, teal, and purple done. And today I got 2 more colors done – yellow and black, giving me a total of 108 + the pink and blue sets; I now have 144 made!

bow tie progress

bow tie progress

Now I’m off to work on my wool block #13, here’s my progress thus far.

block #13 progress

block #13 progress

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lake or Ocean

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Glad y’all had a good time.

Leave a Reply

