Wants and Needs

Have you ever told yourself that you really need to do something, but what you really want to do is something different? I’m not even going to ask myself if I want or need something – that is a completely different book. Ha!

I’ve really been trying to finish my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time, summer block of the week from 2015. I’m chipping away at it. Last night I traced all of my little pieces I need for block 16! I have a list of things that I have to get done, nothing life or death, just my own little pecking order for things.

ready to be cut out

ready to be cut out

I finally have all the blocks prepped! Oh happy day!

block 16 ready for thread

block 16 ready for thread

I told myself that my reward for getting block 16 prepped was that I get to work on 2 colors in one of my bow tie bags. I have decided that I should do a few each day and then someday, I will be at the end of this sweet project and have them all done. This way, I think it will be more fun for me and I won’t be sitting working on one project until it is all done. Now that isn’t wrong if I did it that way, I just have too many things I want to make. Anyway, that’s my story for today! Ha! Even though I was “saving” this project for a retreat! LOL! They are just too much fun and way too cute!

Regardless, it’s all good – progress is progress!

I decided to press on and work on the 3 sashing pieces, rather than “do” what I really wanted to work on. Border and sashing fabric pieces cut, now for the wool! Oh my, I always get so nervous, I guess because I think I’m going to misread the instructions and mess up.

and the finishing kit comes out of the bag!

and the finishing kit comes out of the bag!

Ok – sink or swim – here goes! As instructed, I started with the long stems, next was putting on the fusible on the 6 different green for 33 leaves, 198 small leaves.

my stems are cut and I have one set of 33 leaves cut

my stems are cut and I have one set of 33 leaves cut

The reason I was trying to get this finished or prepped was so that I could work on this project this weekend when we go visit family over the weekend, but at 9:30 I realized there was no way that I’d get all of my 198 leaves cut, nor my 105 small flowers or enough stuff cut to make even one sashing. I’m sure I have enough things to keep me busy until I drive home on Sunday, or at least I sure hope I do.

I decided it is bow tie time! I only got 14 blue ones done and half of the red done, but that is ok! One thing, you cannot sew these things fast – they are too small for fast sewing, but they are still fun and oh so cute. Ha!

my cute little bow ties

my cute little bow ties

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wants and Needs

  1. Karen roberson says:

    Progress is progress…I like that!

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Have a great week-end.

Leave a Reply

