Quilt Shows and Stuff

It has been a while since I’ve written and I hate that, it really boils down to having a lot to have to write about. Oh well, I hope you aren’t bored reading about life round here.

I’m a member of the Baytown Quilt guild and they had their quilt show Friday and Saturday before Mother’s Day.

They had a great quilt show; I showed 3 of my quilts. One was my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings; my Judy Niemeyer, Kaffee Fire Island Hosta and then my Jan Krentz, Lonestar Hot Salsa.

I was awarded ribbons on all 3, I was very happy. My Sunflower Gatherings got a first place and also won a Judge’s favorite. I got a first place on my Lonestar and I got a third place on my Fire Island Hosta.

Here are a few pictures of the other quilts that struck my fancy. I hope you enjoy.

my sunflower gathering quilt

my sunflower gathering quilt

loved this 30's bear paw quilt

loved this 30’s bear paw quilt

Hester's quilt - stunning

Hester’s quilt – stunning

my Kaffe Fire Island Hosta

my Kaffe Fire Island Hosta

Delores' Oh My Gosh, this is still on my bucket list to do

Delores’ Oh My Gosh, this is still on my bucket list to do

Ms Marion's quilt, love the diamonds

Ms Marion’s quilt, love the diamonds

My Hot Salsa Lodestar

My Hot Salsa Lodestar

Ancient stars, love this one too

Ancient stars, love this one too

Cathy and I, we won a blue ribbon

Cathy and I, we won a blue ribbon

I won a first place and a Judges choice award too

I won a first place and a Judges choice award too

How was your Mother’s Day? I hope your family showered you with blessings or you managed to shower yourself. Ha! Sometimes we have to take matters into our own hands. ☺

The Saturday before MD, David drove us to Tyler so we could watch Adley, who’s turning 3 in July, to see her perform in her first dance recital. I have to admit that it was most entertaining. There were dancers of all ages, mainly 3-5 year olds and some got the hang of it but most of them just were “present” and some were “pouters”. One of the groups has a little girl that just decided she was going to observe and so she did with the biggest pouty face I’ve ever seen. The girl dancing beside her tried to convince her to dance by pulling on her arm, but she just battered her off. It was just precious. We sure enjoyed ourselves. I have no idea and I mean NO idea how a teacher can teach 100 little girls how to dance. Well they did not all dance, but they did look great and seemed to try by jumping up and down and doing their own rendition of their recital.

Adley after the show

Adley after the show

she loved her medal

she loved her medal

Kara, Adley and Kyle

Kara, Adley and Kyle

David, Adley and myself

David, Adley and myself

Sunday we got up and went to church and with almost of the family there we took up 2 long rows at church. It was great!

We had a wonderful lunch with Kyle and family then we drove to Hugh’s Plant farm to check out their plants. I think my eyes got bigger than my stomach, we ok, really me – I picked out a lot of plants. Our flowerbeds at home needed a lot of attention and then I needed to pull all the seasonal plants from the house in LaPorte, so we ended up getting a bunch.

Adley and Kara

Adley and Kara

After we loaded all the plants we then drove to Pattie, my sister’s house to visit with Mom and Dad and all of the gang over there. We visited until 4:30 and then hit the road to get home.

Monday was a “planting day”! I started at our home and got that bed all done. That bed was in the worst shape, I don’t think anything was done to it last year. Moving the mulch out of the way was probably the hardest part; oh and breaking up all the dirt. Ugh! Oh my goodness, I was sure wishing that I had not gotten so many plants. Luckily the weather was very accommodating, it was overcast and very breezy! Yea! I got that bed finished and took a break.

our plant selections

our plant selections

before

before

after

after

Later in the afternoon I went to the retreat house and started by pulling up all the seasonal plants and then I placed all the new plants where I wanted them. Luckily, David got off work and came to my rescue and helped me finish all the plantings.

these went to LP

these went to LP

work in progress in LP

work in progress in LP

pulling up

pulling up

more pulling up

more pulling up

these are done

these are done

I’m glad all that got completed. I am working in between duties trying to get all of my 2015 Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time summer block of the week. I decided that I needed to get them all prepped and then stitch until my heart is content. Ha!

I’ve gotten #10 to a good point, but not completely finished. Wahoo!

block 10

block 10

block 10 in progress

block 10 in progress

I also got #11 and #12 all ready for thread.

block 11

block 11

block 12

block 12

I was thinking I only had two more blocks to prep, but I was delusional and was disappointed to see that my last 2 bags actually had 2 blocks in each bag, which equals a total of 4 blocks to do. Boo hoo!

After my pouting, I got busy and got #13 and #14 prepped.

block 13

block 13

block 14

block 14

Now I am officially down to 2 more blocks to prep! I also have the inner sashing and the borders but that is for another day. Ha! I’m slowly but surely getting there!

I did want to share that I finished one of my Moda Frivols, American Jane #8. I sure like it, now it needs the quilter’s kiss. Ha!

Frivol #8

Frivol #8

If any of you want any of the Frivol kits, I have some for sale in my little shop. Just let me know, 1-10 are still in stock.

Last and not least was the Lakeview Quilt show that was this past weekend, I’m a guild member there as well. I did enter the same 3 quilts and it is funny how the same 3 faired differently there. My Lonestar didn’t ribbon, but the other 2 did. My Kaffe Fire Island Hosta took a first place and my Sunflower Gatherings got a 3rd place ribbon. It is all good, in the end, they come home and now I get to hang them!

I’m showing several of the quilt candy for you to enjoy if you weren’t able to make the show, it was a fabulous show as there are so very many very talented women in that guild.

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

Lakeview quilt show

I hope you aren’t bored to tears! I’ll try not to wait so long in between posts.
I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quilt Shows and Stuff

  1. Phyllis Hall says:

    Thanks Ronda for all the quilt pics…….and congratulations on all your wins.Looks like you have been really busy.
    Sorry to miss the show.

  2. Jonnie says:

    Hi, Ronda. Love your posts. Do you know who made the primitive looking basket with hearts in the border?

Leave a Reply

