Boston Mass

As usual, tons of things going on! I had a group coming in last week so I wanted to do a few updates. First I wanted to add to the clothesline in my 30’s room, so I completed that. I really enjoy the little clotheslines they are fun and cheerful.

two new clotheslines

two new clotheslines

at the other end of the room

at the other end of the room

Last weekend was the LaPorte Airing of the Quilts. We participated with the help of Cathy. She was gracious to get them hung while we were in Boston even though she had a lot on her plate. Thank you Cathy, I truly appreciate you putting them out. David and I did a mockup of what they would look like so I thought I would share.

our quilt airing

our quilt airing

the other quilt on the front porchh

the other quilt on the front porch

Friday morning we left Houston and flew to Boston. What a town! I have to say that I love that town – its energy, their mass transportation, their food, their baseball stadium, their weather and their flowers. We had a wonderful trip! The weather was absolutely perfect the entire time we were there.

We went to packet pick up Friday after we checked in and then some of our group went to Legal Seafood Harborside. The food was wonderful! We had a great time and got to know some of the “Lyft” drivers. This is a version of Uber or Taxi, which was fun and we didn’t have to walk. Ha!

David and Michelle

David and Michelle

packet pickup on Friday

packet pickup on Friday

David found his name on the big poster

David found his name on the big poster

at one of the running stores they could look you up.

at one of the running stores they could look you up.

this was the group we were with

this was the group we were with

Legal Seafood, Harborside was wonderful

Legal Seafood, Harborside was wonderful

I had this at Legal, it was wonderful

I had this at Legal, it was wonderful

Saturday we had tickets to see the Red Sox play at Fenway Park. That baseball park is always a pleasure to visit; most of our group went to the game and that made it even more fun. We ended up walking from our hotel to the park, that was one way to avoid traffic and avoid having to find a parking place. Ha!

I forgot where this was, it was cold

I forgot where this was, it was cold

Fenway Park

Fenway Park

Sunday was a low-key day; we caught the rail and went down to Quincy Market and ate at Salty Dogs. That was really good. Later we walked down to Hanover Street and then back to the hotel for dinner.

Monday, the 18th was David’s birthday and Patriot’s Day as well as the day of the Boston Marathon. We got a place secured on Boylston Street about 200 yards from the finish line. It was very exciting waiting for the wheelchair participants and the runners. You could hear the wave of cheers as someone was coming around the corner and we just waited to see whom it was. We waited and cheered for the runners. I did happen to take some stitching while I waited before the race started. Don’t be shocked! Ha! It was a perfect time to just sit and enjoy doing handwork; I got to work on my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time block 9.

the first female runner

the first female runner

the first male runner

the first male runner

there's David heading toward the finish line

there’s David heading toward the finish line

our mini group - Alicia, David and Michelle

our mini group – Alicia, David and Michelle

this was on Beacon Hill, loved the tennis shoes in the window box and violets

this was on Beacon Hill, loved the tennis shoes in the window box and violets

Tuesday was a day that most of our group went home. We did take a little trip down to the Park and walked down Newbury Street then we said bye to our mini group and David and I walked back to Cheers and had lunch.

flowers on Beacon

flowers on Beacon

the reflection is bad, but this is All Saints in Boston, notice all the old sewing machines

the reflection is bad, but this is All Saints in Boston, notice all the old sewing machines

Cheer's

Cheer’s

enjoying some clam chowder at Cheers

enjoying some clam chowder at Cheers

I called the Quilted Crow around 6 and the storeowner, Sue Loring answered the phone. I wanted to see if the rail system would work to get to the quilt store. Unfortunately she said no, it did not, but if we got to the neighboring town one of her employees would be at the train stop to pick us up.

Wednesday we took a rail and train trip out to Bolton to visit a quilt store there called the Quilted Crow. It’s a wonderful store and they were extremely hospitable to David and I. Rose picked us up at the train station and took us to the store. We got to visit with Sue and shopped, we had a great time there. Then we loaded back into Rose’s car and she took us back to the train station. Should you be in the area, be sure to go visit their store.

a mini at the Quilted Crow

a mini at the Quilted Crow

inside the Quilted Crow

inside the Quilted Crow

wool at the Crow

wool at the Crow

wool at the Quilted Crow

wool at the Quilted Crow

at the Quilted Crow

at the Quilted Crow

After we got back into Boston, we headed over to the North end on Hanover for dinner and some pastry shopping.

dinner at Giacomo's on Hanover

dinner at Giacomo’s on Hanover

Mike's Pastry

Mike’s Pastry

this was huge, I didn't get that, it looked dangerous

this was huge, I didn’t get that, it looked dangerous

Modern Bakery

Modern Bakery

our pastries for test tasting

our pastries for test tasting

I had taken my handwork to stitch on the train so I got to work on it.

Thursday morning was our return day, so we packed up and then headed out for our last adventure to the Sam Adams Brewery. We took a tour and then headed to a local diner called Doyle’s. David had a hamburger and I had a lobster roll salad, it was delicious. Then it was time to head back to the hotel, get luggage and head to airport.

at the Sam Adams brewery

at the Sam Adams brewery

loved this old phone booth in Doyles

loved this old phone booth in Doyles

inside Doyles

inside Doyles

my lunch at Doyles

my lunch at Doyles

I did get to finish block #9! We got home about 10 p.m. and it was bliss to be home and in our own bed!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Mass

  1. QuiltingCyclist says:

    Ronda, What a lovely trip you took to Boston. It was very nice meeting you at the Lakeview Studio Tour on Saturday. I decided to take a quick visit to you blog and am very impressed that the host at And Sew It Began had just completed The Boston Marathon. You two are amazing. Thanks for the hospitality. Your establishment is heavenly. Mona Keegan

Leave a Reply

