Spring Fling Twenty Sixteen

We have our little dove back again this year! This makes year #3. Ms. Dove sure does know how to mess up my plant, I don’t know if I should water it or not. Does anyone know if watering will mess up her nest? Now to wait and see those little doves hatch!

our dove eggs

our dove eggs

I did get to work in a little cutting and stitching time. It took me almost an entire day to figure out what fabrics I wanted to use. The pattern is called “True Blue” a Kim Diehl pattern that we got during one of the Jo’s group session. I used fabrics from my Red Crinoline stash.

my units for my blocks

my units for my blocks

and this is what it makes

and this is what it makes

blocks made

blocks made

my little quilt done

my little quilt done

This past Thursday and Friday, Cathy and I got to go to Warrenton and do some antique shopping. This was her first time there and she had no idea of what to expect, she was certainly surprised. We found some treasures and some treasures that we had to think about! I found some more little doily dresses to add to my collection. I also got a few things to put in the fronts of my seed cabinet.

4 new dresses

4 new dresses

Mary drove up late Thursday afternoon and joined us for a little shopping before the vendors closed up and then we drove to Round Top for dinner.

My friend, Mary Helen & Company refurbished an old stone brewery and patio on Bybee Square in Round Top called “Bistro Napoletana” located at 201 E Mills St. This is truly a labor of love for Mary Helen and her devoted husband, Charlie – can be seen there as well. Since we were in the area, I just had to suggest that we go there for dinner. It was so exciting to see them.

Charlie and myself

Charlie and myself

our desserts, the dinner just happen to disappear

our desserts, the dinner just happen to disappear

Nate and Charlie

Nate and Charlie

Charlie and Mary Helen

Charlie and Mary Helen

myself and Mary Helen

myself and Mary Helen

The food was wonderful and we got the royal treatment from Charlie, Mary Helen and Nate, Mary Helen’s son. If you are in the area, you will not be disappointed in the charm and character of the building and the food is sure to please. Also, if it isn’t antique show weekend, go for pizza – Nate’s specialty in his bricked oven.

Friday, Cathy, Mary and I went back to make our final purchases before it was time to end our treasure hunt, but not before we found more goodies!

some of my treasures

some of my treasures

more of my treasures

more of my treasures

look at these lovely gloves.  I had fun trying them on and remembering when I was young.

look at these lovely gloves. I had fun trying them on and remembering when I was young.

We drove over to Cole’s and Cathy found this “Grandmother’s Flower Garden” quilt top that was never quilted. It was in great shape and it was re-purposed into a shower curtain. I needed a little push to get it and I’m very glad I did. I love it and it is now hanging in the 30’s bathroom. It is perfect there! Thank you, Cathy for twisting my arm.

another treasure, now in my 30's bathroom!

another treasure, now in my 30’s bathroom!

Nothing like having friends help you spend your money! Mary has always been up for the challenge, but Cathy had no trouble stepping in. Another treasure that Cathy found for me was this cute little string of paper birds! They now have a new home!

this was a treasure I had to think about, but I couldn't find anything else I liked better.  Now in the reproduction bathroom.

this was a treasure I had to think about, but I couldn’t find anything else I liked better. Now in the reproduction bathroom.

I loved these little birds now hanging in the reproduction bathroom

I loved these little birds now hanging in the reproduction bathroom

How was your Easter? We had lots of family time on Saturday and Sunday. We went to Bennie’s for a cook out and an egg hunt. Kyle, Kara and Adley drove in for the weekend. Katie, Joseph and family were also able to attend and it was fun watching the “younger” kids play together.

I love to watch the kids share.  Kynlee shared her glasses.  Adley likes them upside down.

I love to watch the kids share. Kynlee shared her glasses. Adley likes them upside down.

Adley says "cheese"

Adley says “cheese”

let's roll

let’s roll

Wyatt is on the hunt

Wyatt is on the hunt

but Kynlee found the last one!

but Kynlee found the last one!

confetti egg time

confetti egg time

going over the loot!

going over the loot!

Then on Sunday, those who could attend came over for our lunch and egg hunt. We had a great time and a wonderful Easter. I hope your Easter holiday was wonderful too.

Jaiden, Adley and Dylan

Jaiden, Adley and Dylan

Kyle, Kara, Josh, Angela, Jaiden, Adley, Dad, Dylan, Mom, myself and David

Kyle, Kara, Josh, Angela, Jaiden, Adley, Dad, Dylan, Mom, myself and David

Josh, Angela, Jaiden and Dylan

Josh, Angela, Jaiden and Dylan

Adley has got this gig down

Adley has got this gig down

Go!

Go!

Jaiden on the prowl

Jaiden on the prowl

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Fling Twenty Sixteen

  1. Ron Bible says:

    How nice of you.

Leave a Reply

