Lone Star Summer Salsa

I originally started this post over a week ago and life just got in the way of me posting it and I wasn’t happy with the way my corners ended up and I finally got them to a place that I was happy with, so now I can post.

I want to give my fellow guild members a couple of tips when they work on their project – be sure to backstitch your beginning stitches when you work on your y-seams. It really helps a lot, that extra re-enforcement really helps ease all of the points coming together. Read page 60 and 61 regarding assembly!

First off I added my last diamond unit and then I had two halves!

half of the lone star, I worked the edges first

half of the lone star, I worked the edges first

After that I worked from the edges to the middle, so that the center straight stitch was the last one I did. I thought it was going rather smoothly and then there was a hitch, my point was ugly! I had to fix it, which meant to take out and just do that point over again.

the center section was last

the center section was last

all sewn together

all sewn together

the center always amaze me

the center always amaze me

I opted to just do plain corners and not do the paper piecing corners. I love the lone star.

done!

done!

I got it to GE! (Good enough)

I also re-did my little pineapple top. I like it much better.

my mini pineapple re-do

my mini pineapple re-do

On the 4th of March my oldest grandson, Jaiden turned 11, time has just flown by and it sure doesn’t seem like he should be 11. We had his birthday celebration on Sunday. My mom always makes homemade cards and Jaiden lit up when he got to her card. I know it made me proud and I’m sure it did Mom!

the party is on, they didn't notice the water was cold

the party is on, they didn’t notice the water was cold

Jaiden's cake

Jaiden’s cake

two anxious customers

two anxious customers

Mom's card to Jaiden

Mom’s card to Jaiden

Wyatt loves his cousin, Jaiden.

Wyatt loves his cousin, Jaiden.

Rodeo kicked off on March 1st and I have 5 shifts to work – three down and two to go. I love going down there, but when the weather turns rainy I’d rather not be out there, but “the show must go on”. Ha!

My “circle” obsession on my watch is still on going. Although my watch is encouraging me to keep up with my exercise it has had an adverse affect on my sewing. I’ve not had that much energy once I have time to sew, I just want to veg! Hopefully, I will find some happy medium soon.

I went to an estate sale and I got a great buy on a Eastlake dresser in Friendswood. It has a new home now in the Patriotic room at the retreat house. Now I just have to figure out how I want to decorate it!

the new dresser

the new dresser

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Rodeo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lone Star Summer Salsa

  1. globrister says:

    I saw your quilt at the rodeo. Congrats, it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

