Happy Leap Year

I hope you have had a great leap day, I have, and I’ve gotten a lot done this evening! The weeks continue to go by quickly and just when I think I’m going to have a slow day and I can sew, something seems to creep into my “to-do” list.

My new Apple watch still has me under its spell and I have continued to keep up with my exercise. My trifecta circles are mostly complete since I’ve gotten the watch. I didn’t do well last Tuesday due to the crazy weather we had with rain and strong winds. In fact, I have had two workouts on some days since I can’t get my 500 move calories done in one exercise session. Ugh! I’m trying to get it all worked out, I don’t think I’ve lost any weight, but at least I’m “moving”! One of the “cons” is that I’m not being able to sew and I’m trying to get into some sort of routine. It’s a work in progress.

Saturday I got to do a 22-mile bike ride with my friend Doug M and that is the first time I’ve ridden in a while. It felt pretty good and I’m glad the wind wasn’t too brutal; in fact it was very kind, which is unusual for this time of the year! It was great on the calorie count, but it kicked my behind, I was too tired to sew. See, I’m trying to get to some happy medium. Ha!

my view at halfway, rest stop - there's a cruise ship off in the distance

my view at halfway, rest stop – there’s a cruise ship off in the distance

Saturday late morning, Katie brought over Wyatt and Kynlee, I got to watch then and they even spent the night. We had lots of fun and even drove over to Mom and Dad’s for a short visit to see them and Penny and Steve.

Wyatt playing with his new legos

Wyatt playing with his new legos

Kynlee sleeping through it all

Kynlee sleeping through it all

Breakfast time with the kids

Breakfast time with the kids

Wyatt finally decided on pancakes

Wyatt finally decided on pancakes

time at the park, he climbed up there all by himself

time at the park, he climbed up there all by himself

On the sewing front, I did get to finish my Primitive Gathering, Somewhere In Time block 8. There is a lot of embroidery on these blocks, they seem to take a long time to finish, but I’m pretty pleased with the results.

block 8 done

block 8 done

I wanted to play with these little bowtie blocks. I sure like them, I’m trying to figure out if I want to make these for a quilt.

look at this little bowtie block, it finishes at 2 inches.  I just might make a bunch!

look at this little bowtie block, it finishes at 2 inches. I just might make a bunch!

Linda H and I were in a trade last year and I finally got those out and played with them. They are so cute; the pineapple blocks finish at 2 inches. They were more of a challenge to put together than I thought they would be. For some reason, I do not like the way I finished it, I think I made the borders too large, but for now, it is done. I did audition the border treatment before I put it together, but I might take off the borders and make them smaller – we shall see.

12 pineapple blocks

12 pineapple blocks

ready for borders

ready for borders

borders on

borders on

One of the things that I’ve wanted to finish is my Lone Star quilt pattern by Jan Krentz. This is part of class that I took with the Lakeview guild in June of last year. I have all the parts made; they just need to be assembled. I got to a good point and then I got stuck and I didn’t like how it was coming together and I think I re-sewed one section at least 3 times. Those darn Y-seams are sure tricky. I worked on it and put it down and came back and thankfully the second half came together much faster than the top half. I re-read the instructions and that was MOST helpful! Ha! You know what they say, if all else fails – read the instructions (more than once for me)! It is coming along pretty nicely! Wahoo!

ok, I can do figure this out!

ok, I can do figure this out!

ok, I can live with those points

ok, I can live with those points

next step add the 10 inch squares

next step add the 10 inch squares

now for the diamonds and more y-seams

now for the diamonds and more y-seams

Now I have one more diamond edge to attach and then one long strange seam to make in the middle, then the 4 corners. I do love the red!

one more diamond to add and then to add together

one more diamond to add and then to add together

I wanted to show you a better picture, still not sewn together - but we are close!

I wanted to show you a better picture, still not sewn together – but we are close!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Leap Year

  1. globrister says:

    Well it certainly sounds like you had a productive week. My favorite part of your blogs are all the pictures. I’m a very visual person and so much appreciate the show and tell. Your Lone Star looks awesome. I may just try making a Lone Star quilt kit that I’ve had for years. 😳

    Blessings, g

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Great, nice post, but put my name on the “Lone Star”.

Leave a Reply

