Wool Applique Therapy

Friday, February 5th, Cynthia and I flew to Ft Lauderdale to meet up with Wynette for a quilting cruise with Royal Caribbean on Oasis of the Seas. Olde Green Cupboard organized the event to be lead by Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings and Stacy West of Buttermilk Basin. It was very exciting; we were all really looking forward to what was ahead. We had ladies from 22 states, some from Canada and even ladies from as far away as France.

off to an adventure

off to an adventure

Ft Lauderdale

Ft Lauderdale

We sailed out Saturday morning: first stop was Nassau, Bahamas. Sunday, we had dreary weather but we made the best of it. The water is beautiful there. Cynthia, Wynette and I ended up taking a carriage ride. It was very interesting and we had a great time, even got in a little shopping time.

a ship leaving Nassau

a ship leaving Nassau

from our room, what a wonderful view even though it was cloudy

from our room, what a wonderful view even though it was cloudy

I loved this lighthouse at the end

I loved this lighthouse at the end

Monday was a sailing day, therefore a stitching day. We had 2 classrooms – half of us got Lisa first and the other half got Stacy first, at noon the teachers switched rooms and we got another project to begin.

Lisa designed a sewing pillow for us that we can use while we stitch.

Lisa's pillow design

Lisa’s pillow design

In Stacy’s class we got a pillow too, both are very cute and are completely different.

Stacy's Joy pillow

Stacy’s Joy pillow

Tuesday we arrived at St. Thomas, Cynthia and I decided to go shopping. Jewelry stores are everywhere and everyone wants your business and they offer champagne. We found out there is a reason why they do that! Ha! We had a great time in town and then headed back to the ship and went to the pool.

St Thomas

St Thomas

St Thomas, notice the helicopter at the back of the yacht

St Thomas, notice the helicopter at the back of the yacht

even a pirates ship showed up

even a pirates ship showed up

Wednesday we hopped over to St. Maarten. It is kind of dreamy how you can go to sleep and wake up in another place. We went to the beach there and it was very relaxing. Loved seeing all the scenery there and I got some stitches in on the beach under my giant umbrella. 😉

pulling into St Maarten

pulling into St Maarten

we have a neighbor ship and it is a lot small than ours

we have a neighbor ship and it is a lot small than ours

off to the beach, loved this from shore

off to the beach, loved this from shore

at the beach

at the beach

our lovely sunset from our room

our lovely sunset from our room

Thursday was sailing day and therefore class day. We started with Lisa getting a scissor case, needle case and pincushion. We did “pennies”. They were fun.

my needle and scissor case

my needle and scissor case

In the afternoon we got Stacy’s new truck pattern with the snowmen. It is very cute! I got mine traced and cut out but the irons were a little short on steam so I opted to stop working on that after I got it all cut out.

my truck project

my truck project

Friday we got another project from Lisa, she designed a really cute project for us called Friendship Rose. It is really nice but I didn’t start it since I had all the others started and needed to get those finished before starting anything else.

Lisa's Friendship Rose project

Lisa’s Friendship Rose project

I did get both pillows almost completely finished and good progress on the penny cases. After I get those finished I will work on the truck project. I definitely have a lot to do, but it is all good!

I got to exercise on the ship 4 mornings and got in tons of steps. We had great goodie bags, door prizes, food, laughs, and conversations with the bonus of meeting new friends. We got back to port on Saturday and spent most of the day in lines but finally got home about 8 p.m.

Gloria, Vicky, Heather and Wynette did a great job with all the planning and organizing along with all the behind the scene jobs – thank you for all of your hard work, we had a lot of fun!

I am so truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wool Applique Therapy

  1. Lori says:

    Glad u had a good time. I recently found Buttermilk Basin blog and bought a few things at Houston show. That’s why I needed that 2 yards of double sided paper from you.
    Making all the star blocks from our class plus more in the blue/brown for a quilt. Getting a lot of flying geese practice lol. Have to put my finished wall hanging together and quilt it
    Also want to reserve same January weekend 2017 for a retreat/Houston party. (Jan 26-29, 2017).
    😀😀😀

Leave a Reply

