Go With the Flow

Our trip to Mazatlan was wonderful, but I can’t say that for the airline that we chose to use. We do plan to return there next year, but hopefully we will have a better flight plan going and coming. I’ve decided that I need to adopt the “go with the flow” way of life. Ha!

Our new friends Dave and Ene gave us a nice send off on Saturday touring the old town and then going to the other end to enjoy seafood/Mexican food. We got to sing several rounds of La Bomba and got a friendly stop from his policeman friend, our driver said “no problemo”. We had a great dinner and what a dinner and sang in our plumania (an open air taxi) all the way to our hotel.

one of our views

one of our views

Dave took our picture

Dave took our picture

Ene playing air guitar

Ene playing air guitar

our friendly stop

our friendly stop

our plumania and driver

our plumania and driver

our dinner

our dinner

our last sunset

our last sunset

one more photo

one more photo

We got to the airport and then our flight was almost 2 ½ hours late leaving the airport and once again AeroMexico messed up our connecting flight, but thankfully we got home late Monday night – safe and sound.

Tuesday I needed to finish up the last of my beginning quilting manual and try to unpack as much as possible, run errands and the “lovable” loads of laundry.

Thursday was the beginning of our retreat and I got the opportunity to teach 4 people how to quilt.

We had a lot of material (no pun intended) to cover. We had a great time and I loved being with my retreaters and my students.

Cathy got to finish her faceted jewels quilt

Cathy got to finish her faceted jewels quilt

this was Lori's project

this was Lori’s project

Kathy's blocks

Kathy’s blocks

Connie's blocks

Connie’s blocks

4 new quilters

4 new quilters

our group, less a couple

our group, less a couple

Beverly's top

Beverly’s top

Kathy's top

Kathy’s top

One other note, we had two fabulous visitors drop by to see us. One lady was so excited to see the house; Cecilia and I really enjoyed talking to her and being her tour guide. On Saturday afternoon, we had another visitor, but this time it was Mrs. Rita’s (former owner) granddaughter, Laine. She introduced herself as “her granddaughter and growing up in the house”. We walked around to the front door and I gave her a tour. Bless her heart, it was hard for both of us – we both cried and hugged. Being able to show her the house meant so much to me, I’m not really sure why, but it’s really hard to explain how connected I was to her and to their family. I even got to show her some of the scrapbook that my mom made for me and the journey of what she remembered to what we have now.

I know that my grandparents made a huge “imprint” on my childhood and have a very special place in my heart and if I got to go to their former homes I know it would be quite emotional! It was such a pleasure to be able to show her the house.

I am so truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Go With the Flow

  1. Lori says:

    wonderful time had by all. Thanks Ronda. The Retreat house is perfect.

  2. So many beautiful projects – looks like tons of fun! The people who live in my grandparent’s house are really nice, and don’t mind if we drop by (they have a nice river view, and once in awhile we like to go sit in the backyard!), but it is really hard for me to go in the house. I get emotional just thinking about it! So many great memories there!

  3. Pauline Stavrakis says:

    I had a great time, thank you! Looking forward to September.

  4. Ron Bible says:

    So nice.

  5. Lori says:

    Ronda, haven’t seen a post in a while. Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

