In the Year of 2016

It is hard to believe that it is 2016! Time just seems to dropping through the hourglass and for the life of me it seems to flow faster and faster. Does it seem like that to you? Did you get your year off to a good start? I’ve been trying to; I’ve gotten two quilts finished with bindings. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a year off like this before.

On Thursday the 31st, we had Christmas with Mom and Dad and we had Wyatt and Kynlee. Wyatt has really gotten the knack of opening presents and is quite the helper, but I think what I enjoy watching the most is him looking over the ornaments and calling them out, like he is “star struck” in a way. He had to show Mom where Woody was.

Wyatt helped Mom

Wyatt helped Mom

and then he helped Dad.  it was funny, he even told him it was a blanket.

and then he helped Dad. it was funny, he even told him it was a blanket.

Dad and his quilt

Dad and his quilt

Wyatt showing Mom Woody

Wyatt showing Mom Woody

Next he had to show Mom my little toy tree in our half bath. It was fun watching the kind, gentle spirit of a child.

and all the little toys on this tree

and all the little toys on this tree

Cathy quilted my Yes, We Can America and I got it trimmed up to give to my Dad, but it still needed a label and binding. On New Year’s Day that is what I got to do! Now it is finished! Wahoo! I told Dad it was finished, but I decided that he could only have a picture of it, because I decided I liked it too much. Ha, just kidding!

a full view of Yes, We can America

a full view of Yes, We can America

Dad's label

Dad’s label

trying to show off some of the quilting on Yes We Can

trying to show off some of the quilting on Yes We Can

more quilting Yes We Can

more quilting Yes We Can

Saturday and Sunday I got to get my sleeve, label and binding done on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gathering quilt. Denise quilted it and I just love it, I think she did an outstanding job. While I was taking pictures of it, I really enjoyed just looking at it, as I love the design – even though it was a challenge to make.

Sunflower Gatherings

Sunflower Gatherings

Sunflower Gatherings quilting

Sunflower Gatherings quilting

Sunflower Gatherings more quilting

Sunflower Gatherings more quilting

Sunflower Gatherings

Sunflower Gatherings

another view of Sunflower Gatherings

another view of Sunflower Gatherings

more ofSunflower Gatherings

more ofSunflower Gatherings

last one ofSunflower Gatherings

last one ofSunflower Gatherings

my label

my label

Halfway through doing the binding, my fingers were hurting so we got to take down Christmas and get all that put away. Whoosh, that was a lot of stuff and it took us a long time to get it all packed up, but it’s gone for eleven months. I want to give a shout out to my hubby, he is always so generous with his time, he helps me with all the decorations and really with anything and everything. I cannot imagine me doing it all by myself, nor would I, thank you David. I appreciate you so much! Yeah, now on to other projects.

Are you planning your 2016? I am, 2016 is going to be another very busy and wonderful year!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

