Peace on Earth

Hello out there! Are you guys still out there? I hope you haven’t given up on me or reading my blog. Every time I think I’m going to have time to sit down and write, something seems to come along and take over and then it is time for bed. How was your Thanksgiving? Ours was very good; we had the usual more food than we knew what to do with. We had a last minute change of venue – we were going to host lunch here, but Angela (my daughter-in-law) had an emergency appendectomy on that Tuesday and came home from the hospital Wednesday evening. In an effort to make her more comfortable we drove over there with our food – our own rendition of “meals-on-wheels”. It was all good in the end, family time and food and then waddled home.

I will try to do a little recap. Thursday evening, we ended up watching Wyatt and Kynlee as they spent the night while Katie and Joseph went shopping and we had fun with them. I even got some pretty good photos of them. During the photo shoot I asked Wyatt to put his arm around Kynlee. He was cooperative, but SHE was NOT, she didn’t like it much until I told her to do something to him. Oh the variety of a sibling.

you can read her lips...AHH NO

you can read her lips…AHH NO

another Oh No

another Oh No

then it is funny

then it is funny

and then they do love one another.

and then they do love one another.

We got to meet up with David’s older brother, Gene and his girlfriend, Paula for dinner Friday night and then we got to celebrate my Dad’s birthday on that Saturday night with my Uncle Jack in the Woodlands. We got a lot of family time in that weekend.

Dad's birthday

Dad’s birthday

David and Uncle Jack having some fun

David and Uncle Jack having some fun

David and I pulled out our Christmas décor and starting trying to figure out what we wanted to do first and started chipping away with all that. It is a little overwhelming for me when all those containers come down from the attic. I try not to let it bother me, but it does anyway, we finally got all the decorating done by 12/3 and that was a huge relief. We changed some of our decorations up this year, we have our tree in a different place and our North Pole villages are too. Last year, with all the house remodeling in LaPorte we didn’t decorate any, but we did this year. I guess some things are settling down a bit.

my Dicken's villages in my  sewing room

my Dicken’s villages in my sewing room

my sewing tree

my sewing tree

our big tree

our big tree

a close up of some of our million ornaments

a close up of some of our million ornaments

another view

another view

North Pole villages new home

North Pole villages new home

another view

another view

I even took 3 small trees over the retreat house and decorated over there just a little. We have a little tradition that my Granny, my Mom and 2 Aunts always did – we would put a small tree in every room of the house. They weren’t huge, they were just themed trees about 2 or 3 feet tall and we all loved it. The 3 trees I took over there were a Coke-a-cola; Crayola and a rocking horse tree.

My best friend, Cathy retired from her longtime job and she has been my drill Sargent for the past week or so. It has been great to have her not having to do the daily grind and to have a partner in crime. Maybe we are getting too old to get into too much trouble; regardless I am enjoying her being “available”! Now if only I can loose a few pounds.

this is what you do with turkey leftovers...Pot Pie.  it was Yummy!

this is what you do with turkey leftovers…Pot Pie. it was Yummy! I got the recipe from Cathy

Friday night we drove to Huffman to listen to Dylan sing in his choir event. We thought it would be the same performance that they did the prior day, but it wasn’t, but I really enjoyed it. The sound of children singing really just melts my heart. I don’t know if it is their sweetness and innocence, but I love it. One of the songs they sang was “Let There Be Peace On Earth”. On this anniversary of Pearl Harbor Day and all the unrest in our world, we sure need peace on earth, let it begin with me.

Dylan is a snowman

Dylan is a snowman

I’ve not gotten to do a lot of sewing, I’m not sure why – I guess I can blame it on the decorating. Ha! I have made a miniature quilt that I got a kit from Primitive Gatherings, called Tiny Dancer. It was a bit of a challenge; those little pieces sure take more time to get in the right spot than it does for bigger pieces. These squares finish up at 2 inches and the entire piece finishes at 12 inches.

Tiny Dancer fabric from Red Crinoline Quilts

Tiny Dancer fabric from Red Crinoline Quilts

Tiny Dancer pieces

Tiny Dancer pieces

tiny dancer blocks

tiny dancer blocks

assembly time

assembly time

Tiny Dancer all sewn up

Tiny Dancer all sewn up

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peace on Earth

  1. Linda LaBrot says:

    Happy belated Thanksgiving, Ronda. Sounds like you had a fun and blessed time with family. Keep on blogging. Love reading about your latest adventure. And the quilt photos are inspiring. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. Patricia says:

    Well you have been busy! It is always a pleasure to hear from you whenever you get a chance to blog.You inspire me! I just love your Christmas decorations.

  3. Erin says:

    I love reading your blog and especially all your Primitive Gathering quilts! I live three blocks from Primitive Gatherings so it makes me feel a bit closer to you and your work even though we are half a county away. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    • ronda926 says:

      thank you Erin! what a lucky girl to be so close to a wonderful quilt store like her’s. i’ve never been there but it is on my bucket list. I am going on a cruise in Feb with her and Stacy West and I can’t wait. Thank you so much for reading, we are all blessed to have the technology that we do these days! Merry Christmas to you and your’s too!

Leave a Reply

