Sew Happy!

How was your week and weekend? I hope you are had a good one and you have recovered from Festival and gotten all your new treasures tucked into their new home. I have not! I’ve created quite the MESS! I work in one little area and then I’m off to another area.

I had hoped that I would get a post off midweek, but that didn’t happen and now it is already Sunday night!

I wanted to show you a couple of little dresses I found at festival! They are so cute and I don’t think I have any in orange. I was also gifted one from one of the ladies, Michael that stayed at the retreat house. It is so cute and I appreciate that she thought of me while she was shopping! Thank you, Michael W – that was very sweet of you!

the black one was a gift and I bought the other 2

the black one was a gift and I bought the other 2

I feel like I’m becoming more and more ADD (attention deficit disorder), I have trouble completing tasks and I’m putting things away in cubbies and then I can’t remember where I’ve put them – even things I just put away! Ugh!

This week I concentrated on finishing my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings. I decided it was time to finish, plus the end of the year is coming and it was top of the list to complete! Sometimes deadlines are great – they make me finish! Ha! Sew Monday I worked on my top and then again Tuesday evening but the finial push came down on Wednesday. I worked on it all afternoon and finally quit at 1:00 a.m. I had one flower left to finish and I got it done Thursday morning. I cannot begin to tell you how happy and relieved that I was to have it finished. I sure do like looking at it! I can’t wait to see how Denise puts her spin on it, sew it is off to the quilter! Hallelujah!

Sunflower Gatherings - She's done!

Sunflower Gatherings – She’s done!

another view of the quilt

another view of the quilt

center bottom, 106 leaves and 15 flowers and 2 birds

center bottom, 106 leaves and 15 flowers and 2 birds

the other side

the other side

Thursday evening was the beginning of our sew sister retreat to celebrate Brenda’s birthday and we had a great productive weekend.

getting ready for a small project

getting ready for a small project

First on the list for me was to finish my John Flynn, Storm at Sea and to help Cathy get hers started. She had gotten a kit about 3 years ago and when she opened the kit it was a little daunting so she closed it up and since I took the class I was able to help her. I had worked on mine some, and I was able to finish it. Wahoo!

working with my storm at sea from festival class

working with my storm at sea from festival class

Next up was my clubhouse block for The Painted Pony – I had to cut it up and get that puppy done before Saturday morning! Sew I did! ☺

my finished projects

my finished projects

Cheryl and I got back from the meeting and I began to work on a small quilt kit that I got from Red Crinoline Quilts. It was a great buy, it has 3 patterns in one kit and the backing was all in the package. I sewed up all the blocks on Saturday and then Sunday I added the sashing and the borders. At breakfast I was picking at Cathy and I told her that since nothing was on the longarm she could quilt it once I finished it! Then the challenge was on, she agreed if I’d hurry! Well, it didn’t take that much and I was finished. Then Cathy went to work on it. While she did the quilting I decided to work up the next clubhouse block. It is done too.

Leftover Stars pattern by Red Crinoline Quilts

Leftover Stars pattern by Red Crinoline Quilts

done

done

and even quilted by Cathy

and even quilted by Cathy

love these fabric, she just did a meander stitch

love these fabric, she just did a meander stitch

love the finished project

love the finished project

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew Happy!

  1. Tasha York says:

    You are a super woman – and I love all your accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

