November is Here

Oh my goodness, what a great time I had at Houston Market and Festival this year. It was great meeting new people and reconnecting with old friends. This time next year some of my friends will be traveling to visit me and I can’t wait – they need to save as much money as they can, because this is a quilter’s shopping paradise! Ha!

I did get to take some more photos of the quilts but the one I was most excited about taking was terrible. The girl that made the black paper-piecing quilt that was so amazing won a blue ribbon. She was beside her quilt answering questions, she was from Prescott, AZ and as I mentioned in my last blog, this was her first quilt and she used a domestic machine to do the quilting. I believe she said it took her 3 years to finish it. It is fun to hear the backstory of the quilt and the creator.

this was the big winner

this was the big winner

each block has an letter in it, love it

each block has an letter in it, love it

see the letter z

see the letter z

love the details on this one

love the details on this one

love this one too

love this one too

who knew that a power pole would be quilt worthy

who knew that a power pole would be quilt worthy

love the colors of this one

love the colors of this one

this one won money

this one won money

another view of sunbonnet sue

a view of sunbonnet sue, notice ALL the quilts

loved this one, notice the quilts within the quilts

loved this one, a closer view

this one was the Lakeview guild donation quilt, wished I would have won it

this one was the Lakeview guild donation quilt, wished I would have won it

loved this one too

loved this one too

I got home Saturday afternoon and unloaded and I had a little down time before David and I drove over to Huffman to see the little trick or treaters and I got to visit with Josh, Katie and Joseph. They were all in rare form, but it was sure good to see them – they are sure growing up so fast.

Wyatt and Kynlee

Wyatt and Kynlee

Jaiden, Wyatt and Kynlee

Jaiden, Wyatt and Kynlee

Jaiden (Dylan didn't want to play)

Jaiden (Dylan didn’t want to play)

even Katie got into the act.  Kynlee didn't like Jaiden's mask at all

even Katie got into the act. Kynlee didn’t like Jaiden’s mask at all

I loved this one of Kynlee, she was telling him something!

I loved this one of Kynlee, she was telling him something!

If being home isn’t good enough, there is the thrill of unearthing all the goodies I came across and I just had to purchase. This year, I tried looking for different things and I came across the Dutch fabric and the Indigo fabrics, but I decided to just get the indigo fabric. Oh it is so exciting. I’ve never worked with them before so, now to decide what pattern I want use on these little jewels.

my new indigos and shirtings

my new indigos and shirtings

Oh my goodness, it has been two weeks since I’ve been able to turn on my sewing machine! I know it sounds kind of goofy, but I truly enjoy the process of sewing. I can truly say, I’m itching to stitch! LOL

The directions for the indigo say to serge or zigzag the edges before washing, so that is what I did! I almost decided not to, but I decided it is best that I follow the directions, plus I got to sew! I’m still trying to finish my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings border, but it was perfect to work on while I watched football with David.

more progress!

more progress!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

