Festival 2015 Classes

First off I want to wish my parents a happy 58th anniversary. I love you both! Sunday afternoon I drove up the convention center to attend Houston Quilt Market, with all the rain I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it in or not, but thankfully I didn’t have any trouble. I was looking at the front display when I got a call from one of the ladies staying at the retreat center saying that they had a family emergency and was headed home. Please keep the O’Neil family in your prayers!

I met up with Rhonda M and Michelle B, some friends from San Antonio Sunday evening; we had a nice reunion and enjoyed catching up. They were very gracious and invited me to stay with them at the hotel so I didn’t have to commute back in forth for the two classes we had on Monday and Tuesday. Wow – it was very nice and I took them up on their offer.

Monday morning all 3 of us had a class with John Flynn – he was teaching the Storm at Sea. He offers a laser cut kit and it is so nice to work with. I was able to chain piece and I got a good bit done in my full day class. After class we went back to the room for a quick bite. Rhonda M had fixed chicken and rice soup in a crockpot and it was great to have in a crunch time situation.

one of the Storm at Seas by John Flynn

one of the Storm at Seas by John Flynn

this is a mini Storm

this is a mini Storm

John Flynn's Storm at Sea

John Flynn’s Storm at Sea

Monday evening we 3 had signed up for the Iron Quilter event. This was the first time we attended this and it was a blast. There were 6 teams and they had 2 hours to make a completed quilt top using the fabric that was given to them – kind of like the Food Channel’s “Chopped” or “Iron Chef”. It was a party atmosphere; 50’s-60’s pop music and people everywhere! We could walk around and watch the 6 teams and cheer them on and see how their progress went. The teams were led by designers: Debbie Caffrey, Charlotte Angotti, Marti Michelle, John Flynn, Gyleen Fitzgerald, and Pam Holland.

They had tons of door prizes and even a grand prize of a Baby Lock sewing machine. I did take my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings to have something to stitch on while they were working. I’m chipping away at it. It was fun to see how it all played out. Some of my pictures aren’t very good, but I wanted to share anyway. Charlotte’s team ended up winning!

this is what we walked into at the Iron Quilter

this is what we walked into at the Iron Quilter

John Flynn's team

John Flynn’s team

Pam Holland's team

Pam Holland’s team

the start line

the start line

people attending the event

people attending the event

Gyleen Fitzgerald's team

Gyleen Fitzgerald’s team

Pam Holland is hard at work

Pam Holland is hard at work

Flynn's team thinking

Flynn’s team thinking

Charlotte Angotti's team finish

Charlotte Angotti’s team finish

Debbie Caffrey had fun after she finished

Debbie Caffrey had fun after she finished

Pam's last stitch

Pam’s last stitch

Marti Michelle's finish

Marti Michelle’s finish

Debbie's team finish

Debbie’s team finish

the Fitzgerald team finish

the Fitzgerald team finish

Holland's finish

Holland’s finish

Today I attended a class by Karen Kay Buckley and we did hand applique, a Fiesta block. It was a great class and I learned a lot, even if it was only a 3-hour class.

Karen K Buckley hand applique

Karen K Buckley hand applique

I highly recommend both of these teachers; if you ever have the opportunity you should seize the moment.

I also got to attend a lecture/luncheon given by Mark Hyland before heading home.

I attended this luncheon today, it was funny!  and no, that is NOT David in the background!  Ha!

I attended this luncheon today, it was funny! and no, that is NOT David in the background! Ha!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Festival 2015 Classes

  1. Starla Peacock says:

    Hey girl! Buckley is coming to Panama City in March. I signed up for a one day class on this Fiesta block. Really looking forward to learning some new tricks.

Leave a Reply

