Go-tober

Time to go again, this time I left Thursday night for Arkansas, time for my annual trip to see Brok, Candice, Hunter and Hailey. Mom wasn’t able to go this year, so I ended up making last minute arrangements to fly and it seemed like everyone in the Houston area had the same idea. All the flights were sold out or unavailable! Ugh!

My Arkansas family greeted me at the airport; I love those smiles and the anxious eyes watching for glimpses of me! Of course, I was eager to see them too and then there is the bursting out of “MiMi!” Airport hellos are just the best!

Friday, the kids got to stay with me while their Mom and Dad worked and we made Chocolate No Bake cookies and just messed around. Brok grilled chicken for us for dinner, it was a great evening to relax and enjoy the cooler weather.

Saturday morning, Hunter had 2 flag football games beginning at 10:30 and then the next one right after that. It was really cold there, even though it was a great change, I wasn’t really prepared for the wind and the cooler temps. Luckily, as we headed out the door we made a last minute rush back into the house for blankets. It is a lot of fun watching 4-6 year olds playing flag football, some of them get and some of them don’t. Then you can look over at the bench and see the kids having their own fun kicking up dirt! Life at its best! Ha! Hunter’s team won the first game and lost the second.

we were all bundled up!

we were all bundled up!

Hunter is in the middle

Hunter is in the middle

Hunter is very serious in this pic

Hunter is very serious in this pic

After the games, we welcomed being in the warm car and drove home for lunch. Afterwards we planned to go Peeble’s Pumpkin Patch in Augusta. We wanted to go to a different pumpkin patch this year, but not too sure about if it was worth the drive, but we decided to go. Oh, it was a great Agritourism farm, yes I learned a new word and it means just what you might think – a farm for tourists! Ha! They teach kids how farms work, etc. The farm had a great sunflower patch, a huge corn maze, a huge cotton patch and then several pumpkin patches where you actually went pumpkin shopping or if you just wanted to get one from up front near the gate you could do that too. We all really enjoyed it and it was nice to know that we didn’t get lost in the corn maze – that corn was way taller than we were.

in the corn maze

in the corn maze

family shot

family shot in the corn

Hailey

Hailey

family

family

Hailey

Hailey

Hunter

Hunter

DSC_1142

DSC_1177

IMG_1138

the flowers were HUGE

the flowers were HUGE

see it was bigger than my face, but I love them

see it was bigger than my face, but I love them

pumpkins all around, I know we saw over 4 fields of them

pumpkins all around, I know we saw over 4 fields of them

my son, Brok and me

my son, Brok and me

me and the kiddos

me and the kiddos

Hunter from afar

Hunter from afar

Hailey helping Daddy

Hailey helping Daddy

One of the best things was there were a lot of people there and yet it didn’t really seem like it (maybe they were in the maze). We also had several great photo opportunities, not to mention I had great subject matter! We all had the best time, so we highly recommend going there if you are in central Arkansas.

they even had duck races with the water pumps and more

they even had duck races with the water pumps and more

After all the farming we decided that we wanted Mexican food and so that is what we got. They have a Chuy’s in north Little Rock, so that was our next adventure!

Sunday we all went to church and I really enjoyed seeing God work within my family. It is really humbling and I’m so thankful and blessed in so many ways.

My plane was delayed in Las Vegas but finally got me back to Houston at 11:15 p.m. What a trek but on a good note I was able to stitch and almost finished one of my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time blocks.

my block, I just need to add some stems for the buds

my block, I just need to add some stems for the buds

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go-tober

  1. Patricia says:

    What a wonderful time you had! Time with distant family is so special. Awesome photos.

Leave a Reply

