Apples of Gold

Saturday heaven gained a longtime family friend, we called her Barbrie. She became friends with my mom and dad before they were even married, my mom lived with her sister, Louise and we were neighbors to Aunt Lucy and Uncle Pody. I spent countless hours at Barbrie’s house growing up. I learned so much from them – love, patience, devotion, being a Christian example, being a good friend and forgiveness. Their family was always a part of my family growing up and even again when I raised my own family. Barbara K was a lovely person, inside and out and she made the world a better place, she will be greatly missed.

my Mom and Barbara

my Mom and Barbara

Mr K, Barbara and myself

Mr K, Barbara and myself

I thought I would share our Washington apple-buying story. We decided to buy a 10-pound bag of “honey crisp” apples and the fruit stand suggested that we go to the next town and have them shipped to our home. Off we go! Once we found the shop we go in and tell them what we wanted and they were happy to help us, for a fine fee! Our $23 bag of apples cost us $51 to ship! Oh my stars, those were some expensive apples. I decided to make a couple of apple pies, they sure turned out good and thank goodness Blue Bell is being made again. If there is a next time, we won’t be shipping them home!

yummy apple pie

yummy apple pie

Why does working in my playroom equate to a mess? For some reason, I can’t seem to sew without making one big mess. Are you like that? I got to play with my spools, I got them all laid out and I already had my alternating pieces cut, so it didn’t take me long to get them all put together. Now, it is another story regarding the border, that is going to take a little more time, but I don’t have to worry about someone stepping in and doing it for me, it is waiting on me. Ha!

my spool blocks

my spool blocks

rows of spools

rows of spools

all the rows are together

all the rows are together

borders on, waiting for the appliqué pieces

borders on, waiting for the appliqué pieces

Back in 2013, I was in a swap where we made “square in a square” blocks. The decision was made to alter the pattern from a 4-½ inch block to a 6-½ block. We got it from American Patchwork and Quilting issue February 2013 designed by Jo Morton. We all loved the quilt but since we altered the pattern it also meant that the “pieced” setting triangles would also have to be enlarged. Needless to say, this project got put on the backburner. I have taken it out of the bag more than once playing with it, but now it is officially ready for some serious machine time.

square in a square blocks

square in a square blocks

I laid out all the blocks and first I needed to decide what sashing fabric I wanted to use. Jo used this black/gray stripe, but I thought it might be a little too dark and so I got this gold/green stripe but once I laid it out more I finally decided on the black/gray. I think it compliments it more.

gray sashing

gray sashing

gold sashing

gold sashing

Now to work on the setting triangles! I did a couple of trial setting blocks to see if the would work. Now to get them all cut out and sewn together, but for now I can do the sashing sections. Progress is progress!

some in rows

some in rows

We did a couple of updates at the retreat house, we hung two quilts in the craft room bath and we hung a sign on the back of the retreat craft room. We also have a new print hanging the craft room.

our new sign and view from the church parking lot

our new sign and view from the church parking lot

We hung the “Pretty Dresses” quilt and it sure perked up the room and we also hung the “Crazy Like Us” quilt in there. I still have two blank walls in there! Ha!

Crazy Like Us

Crazy Like Us

Pretty Dresses

Pretty Dresses

For the longest, I’ve enjoyed a print by Rodney White and when I thought about it for the craft room, I could not find it anywhere. Luckily with the help of the Internet, I was able to locate my print and I even snagged a good deal. I got it hung too!

We tend to Seek Happiness when it is actually a choice

We tend to Seek Happiness when it is actually a choice

I truly have so many blessings; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apples of Gold

  1. Lori says:

    Beautiful work! Is that bottom spool set sideways? So interesting. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

