Non Laborless Day

How were your weekend and your holiday? Our weekend was good, we recovered from our vacation and got a few things done like laundry, unpacking and best of all some sewing on the machine. Yes, I just had to jump back on it, besides my machine had missed me! Ha! While I was gone, Cynthia R had sent me a package with all of the girls “swap pieces” for our Yes We Can, America by Norma Whaley. I was pretty excited to see what all everyone had made and to see what I needed to add. I decided with some help of Jerrianne E and her sister, Becky S to “supersize” mine. They made one and made it bigger and I really liked their rendition of it, so I added to it.

my swap pieces, they remind me of a big jigsaw puzzle

my swap pieces, they remind me of a big jigsaw puzzle

Saturday morning I went to the Pony for our monthly clubhouse meeting and then came home and pulled my fabrics and decided what I wanted to put with what, I needed to make extra red sawtooth stars, nine patches, extra blue sawtooth stars and two extra sashing pieces. I got busy cutting on Saturday, sewed on Sunday while David played golf. I turned on my music and I was a busy little bee.

my extra red sawtooth stars pieces

my extra red sawtooth stars pieces

more pieces

more pieces

Oh, I wanted to share my two newest doily dresses and my cute little miniature iron I got while I was in Washington, both blue dresses – I love them.

my new dresses

my new dresses

Sunday evening we drove to Ed and Michelle’s house in the Heights and had a nice little visit. They recently moved from the Clearlake area side of town to the city and it has been a bit of a challenge to leave behind all their friends, but they are in a great neighborhood of old homes that I drool over every time in that area. We did a drive by and drop in a few weeks ago and they were sure happy to see us. Anyway, we had a nice Sunday evening.

Monday morning David needed to mow Mom and Dad’s yard, so I had decided that I would go over there with him and visit with them while he mowed. I wanted to help but only one mower and it was extremely hot, so I stayed inside and every once in a while I would go check on him. I did take my wool applique and worked on my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time block. I got a good bit done, wahoo. Needless to say David was dripping wet and 4 hours later he finished up and they treated us to lunch. Poor thing, I sure felt bad for him. Next year, we are going to have to change some things up, not sure how, but we sure need to.

my block in progress

my block in progress

After we got home, I got to finish up sewing all my extra sections and then it was time to start assembly. I began with my red sawtooth stars rows.

ok, all pieces done now

ok, all pieces done now

Yes We Can, America coming together!

Yes We Can, America coming together!

Today was scheduled to be a workday, but computer issues got in the way so I was off. I just thought that I would be able to sew but that did not happen. I began trying to clean my room, which needed to be done in the worst way and then I had a few errands and for some reason I just met myself coming and going. Perseverance does pay off; I finally got my printer to work at the retreat house, now to get the darn fax machine to work. So goes my love/hate relationship with technology!

On the topside I did get to show the house off to 5 people today and they loved it! It sure makes me feel good that everyone likes it and I get to share it with everyone that comes my way.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

