Washington Review

David and I had a great time in Washington. Tuesday morning, we got up early and drove to Seattle to meet a fellow running friend that moved away, Dottie and to do a little sight seeing. We had also wanted to go over to Victoria B.C. but it was a last minute idea and it just didn’t work out, so we played in Seattle instead. It was a little rainy but the temperatures were wonderful! Most of the time it was in the low 60’s and some times it was even lower than that.

After visiting with Dottie, we drove over to the Space Needle. We went to the top, it was very impressive – it was extremely windy there and very cold, but beautiful. They were even filming a show there for some reality show, but we opted to stay away from that section. I did take my zoom lens and I tried to take some good photos. One of the ships that were in port was HUGE; in fact, it was on their area news later as being one of the largest cargo ships to be in port.

the space needle

the space needle

on top of Seattle

on top of Seattle

the port

the port

mega ship

mega ship

another view up top

another view up top

I thought this was interesting

I thought this was interesting

After going around the needle, we went to the Chihuly Glass Exhibit. It was beautiful, all blown glass and beyond words. I can’t imagine doing any of this!

outside the glass exhibit

outside the glass exhibit

inside glass, pictures don't really do it justice

inside glass, pictures don’t really do it justice

another glass picture

another glass picture

I found it funny that this is being used in quilts now

I found it funny that this is being used in quilts now

another glass view

another glass view

After the glass exhibit we caught the monorail to the mall and then walked over to Pikes Place Market. It was so exciting; artisan’s wares were on one side and on the other side there’s a market area for vegetables, fruit, seafood and flowers that were just lined up and CHEAP! You could get a wonderful bundle of flowers for $10-$15. Oh, how I wanted some, but I decided not to indulge. It was hard to not want some of them so I just took a lot of pictures.

the market

the market

this was at Beecher's cheese shop

this was at Beecher’s cheese shop

outside of starbucks

outside of starbucks

flowers

flowers

flowers for $10

flowers for $10

more flowers

more flowers

seafood

seafood

more flowers

more flowers

Wednesday, we drove to a little neighboring town called Cashmere and went to antique shop and I found a couple of doily dresses and a little iron for my collection and David even found a chipping club for his golf bag and then we went back to Leavenworth and went to the Baren House for some homemade pizza. Oh my word, it was wonderful. Our dessert (maybe mine more than David’s) was to go to the Leavenworth Quilt Co and see what treasures they had. It was a very cute little shop; they had a lot of stuff and were very creative with how they displayed their little goodies.

quilt shop

quilt shop

inside

inside

more fabric

more fabric

David wanted to go play another round of golf, so he took me back to the room and I stitched while he golfed. It was fun and I was able to get some stitches in!

Thursday we were told there was a waterfall nearby, but we could not find it but we were able to stand amazed with the grandeur of Washington’s beauty. The Wenatchee River was captivating and so relaxing to listen to it flow. The river was down quite a bit, but still very beautiful!

river

river

Wenatchee river

Wenatchee river

I love the river!

I love the river!

doesn't it look dreamy

doesn’t it look dreamy

David and I signed up for a 5-line, zipline tour, which started at 2. I was not sure what all was going to happen and I was a little reluctant, but once you are in, you are in! No turning back when you are in the top of huge ponderosa pine. They took us through a little class and then we took this hike up and that was more of a workout than I thought it would be. I mean this was a real mountain, not any of our parking lot hills. Ha! Luckily we stopped and I got to catch my breath some, I think David and I were the oldest ones in the group and I think we were toting about 10 pounds of equipment. Ugh! I forgot how long each zipline was, I think the first line was about 70 feet, then the next was 150 feet and then it jumped up to about 300 and the last two lines were 650 feet and the last one was 660 feet. I totally recall the distance of the last two lines. They were long and I had to be towed in on the last two. It was very windy and you could see the trees swaying and you could feel it too. There were 9 people in our group. Two of them were the guides, one was the lead and the other one was our “sender”. It was a lot of fun after you got over the shock of what all you were doing. I have to admit I was not letting go of the tree for about the first few rides, but then I let go! It was a lot of fun, so you just might want to look into something like this if you ever get the chance.

our platform for the first jump

our platform for the first jump

here he goes

here he goes

this is 2 and 3, see how there is an upper platform

this is 2 and 3, see how there is an upper platform

our view on top of the world

our view on top of the world

another zipline

another zipline

there's David

there’s David

another line

another line

650 zipline

650 zipline

the last line

the last line

here he goes

here he goes

David, our guides and myself

David, our guides and myself

Friday morning, we packed up and headed back to Seattle and eventually got back home. We had a great time and once we were flying into Houston we were even welcomed with a rainbow outside our window. God has been so good to us!

isn't is beautiful

our welcome wagon, isn’t is beautiful

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Washington Review

  1. Good for you, trying the zip lines! That’s on my list. We were just in Tacoma last month but didn’t tour around Seattle at all. Now that Son is based out there, we’ll go back and have our chances.

  2. ronda926 says:

    well, I highly recommend you doing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

