Washington Bliss

Where does your mind go when you go to play? While flying to Seattle, we boarded a shuttle bus from the parking garage to the airport with another couple and David asked them where they were going. They said they were going to Estes Park, Colorado. When they said that, it reminded me of going to Colorado Springs with Mom, Dad and family in the early 1970’s and we ended up driving north to South Dakota, but we had to detour around Estes Park because of riots/protests being at the park. I believe they were protesting about being involved in the Vietnam War. When I was telling them that, it sure made me think about days gone by.

Whenever we travel via airplane I am always intrigued with the flight process. It is way beyond my brainpower – how they get all of the people and their baggage to one place! I also marvel at the view! Our flight to California was long, longer than we both realized and the phone/photo technology has come a LONG way. We flew into Oakland and I was able to take an aerial photo of the bridge and then taking off to Seattle. Geography and God’s wonders are beyond words. I did get to finish my last 3 stems for my Primitive Gatherings, SBOW sashing units. Wahoo!

I was reading my Quiltmania Magazine #108 on the airplane regarding “the Indiana Wreath”. It is a very good article and they researched a quilt that was made according to genealogy and the census and other artifacts they have for 1858 (100 years before I was born). It made me wonder 100 years from now will anyone care about what I’ve left behind? Probably not, but that is ok too!

We are sure enjoying our vacation! We drove from Seattle to Leavenworth for our first time-share vacation. Things are sure different here! The trees are giant in stature and mountains and flowers are everywhere. We even passed several pear orchards on way here. The people are lovely here! We had dinner at the Watershed last night and ended up talking to a very nice couple and then walked around town.

this is the outside of our home for a few days

this is the outside of our home for a few days

our room

our room

the balcony outside of our room

the balcony outside of our room

hanging flower baskets are everywhere!

hanging flower baskets are everywhere!

and they are HUGE!

and they are HUGE!

another basket

another basket

and the trees are huge too, I couldn't fit it all in my picture

and the trees are huge too, I couldn’t fit it all in my picture

Brian, I thought of you!

Brian, I thought of you!

here's an example of how HUGE they are!

here’s an example of how HUGE they are!

David brought his golf clubs with him and he really wanted to play golf while we were here and he wanted me to watch him, so he has been gracious to take me quilt shopping so I thought I would join him. After all, I did bring my handwork! 😉 We had lunch at the Wild Huckleberry café at the golf course. It was very good!

at the golf course

at the golf course

along the course, loved this river view

along the course, loved this river view

also on the course

also on the course

another river house along the course

another river house along the course

David had a pretty good game today

David had a pretty good game today

an action shot, the hip action did not make it in.  ha!

an action shot, the hip action did not make it in. ha!

on the course, I love those sunflowers

on the course, I love those sunflowers

another action shot

another action shot

After that we drove down to the orchards and to a couple of the fruit stands and they thought I had an accent. I thought that was funny, he tried to guess where we were from and he did guess it right! Oh and there is a quilt store right there too, but they we closed, so we will definitely have to make a return visit to Prey’s Fruit Barn and visit Leavenworth Quilt Company.

that is huge box of FRESH apples

that is huge box of FRESH apples

more fresh fruit

more fresh fruit

the orchards

the orchards

another view of the orchards

another view of the orchards

It has been funny talking to different residents and how they root for their teams. Of course we are rather proud Texas team fans and not really for the Mariners or the Seahawks. While golfing they wanted to know it we were Cowboy fans and it just so happens that the Mariners are in Houston playing the Astros. Once we got back to the room it is funny to listen to the Seattle sports announcers do their commentating.

I am enjoying the pine tree smell and the cool weather. I could get accustomed to this weather. I did have to dig out my socks and closed toe shoes and put away my flip-flops. I know, I would freeze during the winter, but it is sure bliss now!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

