Wooling Around

What a great past couple of days, the weather has been wonderful. Any day when there is low humidity in the gulf coast area it is a luxury, and that is what we’ve had!

Since I got my Thimblecreek pumpkin quilt finished, I decided that it was time to change gears and prep some of my Primitive Gatherings, Somewhere in Time blocks of the week (BOW).

Again, I’m always surprised how much time it takes to prep. You need to first trace the pieces and then trim up your items to put on wool and then cut out the wool pieces and then place them on the cotton background after you prep the cotton block with Dritz Fray Check. I have learned the hard way that it makes a big difference on your block if you don’t use the fray check. When you are handling your block sewing it really keeps the cotton from fraying so much. It’s a short time expenditure with a huge payoff. Before I trace anything, I prep my background block and set it aside so that it can dry while I start tracing my pieces. Yea, it is the little things! 😉

fray check drying.  I like to use my mylar sheet.

fray check drying. I like to use my mylar sheet.

I got blocks #2 and #3 ready for stitching and I needed to go to the retreat house Friday afternoon to do a couple of things and when I went to my car to come home, my car would not start. In fact, it didn’t do one thing! I called David and told him that I thought it was my battery, but all was good, I was in my dollhouse and I just waited for him to arrive. Things did not go well and we had to call AAA and they came and got me going and I drove straight to NTB and they fixed me up with a nice new battery. I was very thankful I wasn’t somewhere else.

block 2 ready

block 2 ready

block 3 ready

block 3 ready

That evening, David and I met Cathy at PF Chang’s for dinner and it was very good. It is wonderful to have such great friends!

I also got SBOW #4 ready for stitching, I’m getting there and I got 2 more blocks I the mail today. I’m glad we are nearing the end. Lisa Bongean posted a preview of the quilt and it is amazing. Just when you wonder how could it get any better, somehow it does. She is very talented!

block 4 ready to be cut out

block 4 ready to be cut out

block 4 ready for thread

block 4 ready for thread

I want to show photos of the quilt that I made from my Florida stitch sisters churn dash swap. I’ve shown the quilt before, but now it is completely finished, binding – label and all. Cathy Carnew quilted it and she did a great job, thank you very much!

churn dash

churn dash

another view of the churn dash

another view of the churn dash

I love the quilting

I love the quilting

my churn dash quilt

my churn dash quilt

Saturday afternoon I got to change gears a little and I pieced the Pony Clubhouse block #6. It was nice to just cut and sew.

block 6 ready for thread

block 6 ready for thread

block 6 is done

block 6 is done

Now I’m on to prepping my SBOW #5!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wooling Around

  1. norma says:

    Love the Churn Dash Quilt

Leave a Reply

